You’ll Never Go Thirsty Again…


 

Water Drop

“Jesus said, “Everyone who drinks this water will get thirsty again and again. Anyone who drinks the water I give will never thirst—not ever. The water I give will be an artesian spring within, gushing fountains of endless life.” (John 4:13-14)

* * *

The Samaritan woman came to the well and Jesus, feeling tired from his journey, asked her for a drink of water. She looked at him surprised, ‘Why is a Jew asking me, a Samaritan, for water. Jews don’t talk to Samaritans.’

And  Jesus answered, “If you knew the generosity of God and who I am, you would be asking me for a drink, and I would give you fresh, living water.”

Oh, how this verse jumped out of the pages and messed me up.

Jesus wasn’t speaking to a temple priest. He wasn’t speaking to someone who lived a ‘right’ life. She was a Samaritan. She was a woman. She was a woman living in adultery. Everything about her screamed ‘shame’.

Yet Jesus was talking to her. Jesus looks at her, “if you knew the generosity (the gift) of God… if you knew who I am, if you knew who you were talking to, you’d ask me… and I’d give you fresh living water. You’d never go thirsty.”

If you knew the generosity of God…

If you could just understand that all the generosity of God is embodied right here before you… his Only begotten Son…

If you knew who’s sitting right here in your presence…if you knew who you’re talking to…

You’d ask me

and guess what? I’d give it to you.

And He Says The Same To Us

Yeah, I know you’re an outcast. Yes. Yes. I’ve known your story. I know where you’ve been and where you are right now. Yes. I know your dirty little secret-

But if you ask me,

I will give you…

If you ask me,

I will give you…

If you ask me, 

I will give you…

Friend, I’ve been that person sitting in the midst of Jesus without even recognizing Him. I’ve been that person coming to drink from wells that do not satisfy. I’ve roamed from well to well, from earthly pleasure to earthly pleasure. Trying to quench my thirst, I drink long at these wells. And somehow, I know these earthly wells do not quench my thirst. Yet in my foolishness, I take the cup up to my lips and drink down.

I take another cup to my lips, and again I drink down.

I take another cup.

And another cup.

And another cup.

And I’m left thirstier than when I first arrived.

The echoes continue…

If you ask me,

I will give you of this water.

This water satisfies. This water quenches that longing of your soul. This water brings life.

You’ll never again go thirsty…

* * *

Be sure to sign up via email on the top sidebar so you don’t miss any new posts. I would also love for you to join me on FACEBOOK | TWITTER.

 

Photo Credit: Sergiu Bacioiu via Compfight cc

Posted on January 30, 2014, in DEVOTIONALS, LIFE, LIFE LESSONS, SPIRITUAL GROWTH. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

