Encouragement For Today


I wrote the post for this series last Thursday, yet I can’t bring myself to publish it. It’s finished, sitting there in my drafts. But the longer I blog, the more convinced I am that I’m responsible for every word that comes out of this space. And so I weigh things heavily. I filter them through my heart issues. Then I filter them through God’s words until all that’s left is what I’m able to offer.

Sometimes, nothing is left after going through those filters.

Other times, there’s truth and encouragement, there’s grace and hope. And those days, I’m filled to the brim as I release those words here.

Still working on the “exploring the work you have been given” post. But for now, what I have on my heart is this:

You’ve gone hungry and you know what it’s like to have an unquenchable thirst. You’ve walked in darkness, uncertainty weighing heavy on you. You’ve sought direction, guidance, approval, and significance. You’ve longed to produce… And now, you find yourself exhausted.

I invite you to come to the table and feast on the Bread of Life. He promises you will never go hungry (John 6:35). 

Come, come, and drink from this Fountain… you will never thirst (John 6:35).

You’re walking aimlessly. Darkness surrounds you. Uncertainty and worry grip you in every direction… come, follow Him and you will have the Light of life (John 8:12).

So many voices crowding up your mind. So many ‘truths’ rising up. So many paths. So many opinions… come, He is the way, the truth, and the life (John 14:6).

Looking for a shepherd who will guide you and lead you, one who will care for you and love you… come, He is the Good Shepherd. Not only does He love you, but He gave His life for you (John 10:11).

You want significance and purpose? Want to produce in life? Come, to the Vine, the only One who can cause you to bear fruit. Abide in Him. Because apart from Him you can do absolutely nothing (John 15:5).

Friend, all that you need, He’s already provided.

All that you’re looking for, is already yours.

Simply come. Abide. Eat. Enjoy. Rest in Him.

* * *

P.S. If you’re looking for a place to connect beyond the blog, we’d love to have you join us. Click {here} for more details.

Posted on January 28, 2014, in DEVOTIONALS, LIFE, LIFE LESSONS, SPIRITUAL GROWTH. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. My grace is sufficient for you! (I keep hearing this)

Leave a Reply

