5 Minute Friday: Fight


5minutefriday

It’s called 5 Minute Friday’s.

It’s a group of writers, who after receiving a word prompt, have 5 minutes to write. Lisa-Jo Baker challenges us to write for 5 minutes with no grammar rules, no editing, just set the timer and Go! Want to join us? Find out how, {here}.

Here I….

Go!

FIGHT:

I can’t get it out of my head.

Vernon Brewer spoke the words and they ring in my heart.

Echoing truths I’ve long forgotten.

“Impact the world by fighting the battles that are on God’s heart.”

What a loaded statement.

I’ve fought for my rights.

For my wants.

For my desires.

I’ve fought for my values.

For my agenda.

For my dreams.

For my selfish pursuits.

But what about fighting the battles on God’s heart?

What would that look like?

What would I have to face?

What more would I have to endure?

What does this type of courage,

this type of bravery look like?

I was born a fighter.

It’s in me.

Perhaps, these words are just the echoes of the calling placed into my soul

long before I ever figured it out.

I’m a fighter.

And so, here I am.

Enlisted.

To use what God’s given me

In whatever format it pleases Him…

and I join the rank of the many

brave

 courageous

audacious believers

who fight the battles that are on God’s heart!

Stop!

* * *

Be sure to sign up via email on the top sidebar so you don’t miss a post. Then join the conversation on FACEBOOK | TWITTER.

 

Posted on January 3, 2014, in 5 Minute Friday. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Love this Darlene. “Fighting the battles that are on God’s heart”, another way that God reminds us of His calling. We are part of His team, warriors for Christ. Beautiful.

  2. Beautiful. We are all God’s warriors and I sometimes forget that. That its not my agenda that is important. God has called every believer to fight his battle and get his word out and we need to do that. We need to be warriors for Him.

    • Heather, when I heard Vernon Brewer speak those words, “fighting the battles on God’s heart”, I realized there are so many battles we could fight… but really, the important ones are the ones on God’s heart. Because those are the ones we have victory in. Those are the ones that advance His Kingdom. The problem is we get so distracted, it sometimes becomes difficult to even hear the heart of God. As a good friend said today, intimacy is how we hear God’s heart…

Leave a comment