5 Minute Friday: Fly


5minutefriday

It’s called 5 Minute Friday’s.

It’s a group of writers, who after receiving a word prompt, have 5 minutes to write. Lisa-Jo Baker challenges us to write for 5 minutes with no grammar rules, no editing, just set the timer and Go! Want to join us? Find out how, {here}.

Here I….

Go!

FLY:

Interesting, what one learns while teaching

your first grader about animals.

Flight feathers.

That’s what the book called them.

They’re special feathers. They give the bird the ability to fly.

I shared that with my husband once.

God’s amazing creation.

All the amazing details He’s worked out.

My husband said he heard that some people clip off the flight feathers on birds to keep them from flying.

Sad. Isn’t it?

Being created for something so beautiful, freeing, and exhilarating as flying…

Yet never being able to take off from the ground.

Isn’t that how we feel sometimes?

We’re ready to fly.

It’s in us.

We can feel it.

Yet there is no lift.

Our spread out wings flap tirelessly.

And we, well we’re not going anywhere.

That’s when I’m reminded that the One Who created me

doesn’t waste a thing.

I’m mounting up on His wings.

I’m finding the beauty and freedom I was created for.

 I am learning to fly…

Stop!

* * *

Be sure to sign up via email on the top sidebar so you don’t miss a post. Then join the conversation on FACEBOOK | TWITTER.
Posted on November 22, 2013, in 5 Minute Friday. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Mounting up on HIS wings….that sure helps when we feel our wings are clipped, doesn’t it? I need the reminder to rely on His ability, not mine. Thanks for your thoughtful contribution to FMF.

    • Hi Lisa, thanks for stopping by {In Pursuit}! I agree on needing the reminder to rely on His ability. How easy it is to shift our focus when things get tough. My defense is becoming to stop and give thanks. It’s not easy. Nonetheless, it’s proven necessary in my life 🙂

  2. What a simply beautiful way to look at it! I can’t imagine not being able to do what God has created me to do.

  3. I love this – what a beautiful poem. 🙂 I’m your fmf neighbor and this is lovely. 🙂 Thanks for sharing it with us!

Leave a Reply

