31 Days {In Pursuit} Of Your Child’s Heart- Day 25


Day 25: Going Deep

31D

(To read all post in the series, click {here}

* * *

“…For out of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaks.”

Luke 6:45

“WHAT?!”

I hear the tone in his voice and I know it needs to be addressed.

He gives me the ‘WHAT?!’ look.

I see it, I know it needs to be addressed.

The book of Luke tells us that a man brings forth whatever is hidden in his heart. If there’s evil, evil will seep out. If there’s goodness, goodness will flow out. It would be wise then to discern what we see overflowing in our children’s speech.

Proverbs 20:5 (CJB) says, The heart’s real intentions are like deep water; but a person with discernment draws them out.”

I remember a day when my son and I kept going back and forth for something so ridiculously little. I don’t even remember what the issue was. He was fighting about something, but there wasn’t anything to fight about. He wanted to win this one (again, there was nothing to win). Yet he kept digging a hole for himself.

As I watched him, I sat at the table thinking, “Lord, I just don’t know what to do with this kid. Help me to hold my tongue. Holy Spirit lead me in this conversation because it’s not going anywhere. Give me the words because right now, I’m not sure what else to say.”

I knew there was something behind his “I’m giving this argument all I’ve got” attitude. I just didn’t know what it was.

I looked at with all the grace I could muster up, “Son, you’re putting a lot of energy into this argument. What’s up?”

He didn’t tell me.

Later on that evening he came down to the kitchen, where I was cleaning up.

“Mom, I’m sorry about my attitude. I knew I was wrong, but I kept making it worse by arguing more. I kept digging a hole for myself and I didn’t know how to get out. I shouldn’t have talked to you like that.”

This time, it was a pride issue. Other times, the conversation has turned into, “Mom, I’m sorry. There’s just so much going on…”

Today’s Challenge

Be willing to go deep. Deeper. And deeper still if need be. Sometimes, that might mean closing the computer, putting down the broom, or missing an appointment. Other times, it might just be praying with them.

But every time, it will mean showing your concern for what’s in their heart.

Every time, it will mean praying for God’s wisdom and leading.

Every time, it will mean putting your own pride and attitude to the side so that you can see what’s really going on.

Every time, it will mean stopping what you’re doing so that you can help them navigate the murky waters.

Every time, it will mean teaching them to guard their hearts, for everything else flows out of it (Proverbs 4:23).

Every time, it will mean shepherding their hearts.

Every time, it will mean pointing them back to Jesus!

If we’re going to go {In Pursuit} of their hearts, we have to be willing to go deep.

Don’t want to miss a post in our series? Sign up via email on the top sidebar so have them sent to your email. Then join the conversation on FACEBOOK | TWITTER.

31dbutton2

Joining The Nester and hundreds of bloggers for 31 Day Series. 

Posted on October 25, 2013, in 3-5 YEAR OLDS, 31 Days {In Pursuit} Of Your Child's Heart, FAMILY LIFE, MOTHERING ON PURPOSE, PARENTING, TEENS. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a Reply

