31 Days {In Pursuit} Of Your Child’s Heart- Day 15


Day 15: Instruct Them In The Word

31D
To read all post in the series, click {here}.

She  walked to the kitchen to empty out a sharpener dispenser. On the way back to the sunroom, where we were doing our schooling, she stops and looks at me.

“Mommy, I’m sorry for having an attitude when you asked what I was doing. I said, “I’M GOING TO THROW THIS AWAY” and I shouldn’t have talked like that. I should have just told you nicely that I was going to empty out the sharpener. That was not kind.” 

I looked at her sincerity and was filled with so much delight. She blessed my heart. It was another glimpse of the work of God in the lives of my children (and Lord knows there are days we need to be reminded!).

I was getting the next part of our lesson ready. I had not even noticed her attitude. Yet she did. And she decided to make things right.

Your Word I Have Hidden In My Heart

It’s hard to pursue selfish hearts. Isn’t it? It’s hard to pursue our children’s hearts when their hearts are so fixated on things of this world. Because to delight them would mean to feed their ego, or to meet their ‘I want this and that’ demands.

But what if we instructed them in God’s word so that it might lead their hearts to Him and to what honors and pleases Him? Pursuing their hearts would then look much different.

See yesterday morning, we were reading about showing love to our enemies, which ended up in a conversation on how we should treat each other. We’ve also memorized scriptures such as “Your word is a lamp to my feet” and we’ve talked about how God leads us in the way we should walk. Or “Your word I have hidden in my heart that I might not sin against you” and we’ve talked about how the Holy Spirit will bring to remembrance the word of God so that we can make right choices.

So here, in the middle of my day, I was not specifically addressing her attitude, but God’s word was active and it was doing a work far greater than any I could accomplish with a rebuke or correction.

Today’s Challenge

Ask God to show you how you can instruct your children in His word. There are so many wonderful resources and guides out there to help you get started. However, just a good ‘ol Bible will do the work. Pick a scripture. Memorize it together. Make it fun by turning it into a song.

You’ll be amazed at how quickly they learn and how God uses it to mold and lead them in their daily walk.

If we’re going to be {In Pursuit} of their hearts, we need to make sure we’re pointing their hearts back to Jesus.

Don’t want to miss a post in our series? Sign up via email on the top sidebar so have them sent to your email. Then join the conversation on FACEBOOK | TWITTER.31dbutton2

Joining The Nester and hundreds of bloggers for 31 Day Series. 

 

 

Posted on October 15, 2013, in 3-5 YEAR OLDS, 31 Days {In Pursuit} Of Your Child's Heart, MOTHERING ON PURPOSE, PARENTING, TEENS. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

