31 Days {In Pursuit} Of Your Child’s Heart- Day 14



Day 14: Make Quiet Time With God A Priority

31D
To read all post in the series, click {here}.

We’ve already talked about talking to God and asking for an undivided heart. We’ve even talked about seeking God’s heart for your children. But there is one discipline I’ve learned over the years that’s made a world of a difference in my parenting…

Quiet Time With God

For me it happens in the mornings. I try to wake up between 5-6 a.m. This gives me a good 2-3 hours before my daughter wakes up. Although I wake up at this time, I am totally not a ‘get up and get going’ kind of person. As a matter of fact, you might not want to talk to me for at least an hour. Not so much because I’m grouchy, but because my mind is just not there.

I’ve even started taking a shower at this time, getting dressed (hair, make-up, and all) simply because it helps to wake me up. Then it’s tea time and word and prayer. I call it my {Morning Date With God}.

Why Is This Important?

I’m not legalistic about when a person should have their quiet time with God (or even how long it should be). For me, morning time works best (and it gives time for my writing afterwards). It prepares me for the day ahead. It gets my mind and heart in the right place. One thing I’ve noticed over the last 3 years of consistently meeting with God in the early hours is how much I need Him!

Taking care of children is not the easiest job in the world. As a matter of fact, there are mornings when you’re so sure everyone should get back in bed and start over. There are exhausting days, trying days, fighting with brother and sister days, jumping off the walls days, and the all time favorite- mommy, I just want to play, play, play, play, play days!

Moms, you’ve got your work cut out for you. I know!

I’ve found that unless I’m in the face of God first, I honestly don’t have the desire, patience, or sometimes even willingness to show up and serve unselfishly. I mean, we get the job done but not without irritation and frustration. Mornings when my daughter gets up before me leave me groaning with a “Lord, have mercy!” prayer. I regret staying in bed longer than I should have. I then begin the process of slowly waking up while trying to keep up with the little one who’s ready to go, go, go!

morning date

I handle the day and the challenges differently when I’ve had that time with God.

Today’s Challenge

If we’re going to pursue our children’s hearts, we’re going to have to be fully present and engaged. Time with God helps us do this (and so much more!).

How can you make sure quiet time with God is a priority in your schedule? If you’ve already established this discipline in your life, ponder how it makes a difference. Either way, leave us a comment letting us know. I’d love to hear from you!

P.S. You can get a free Daily Planner printable here >  {Morning Date With God}.

31dbutton2

Don’t want to miss a post in our series? Sign up via email on the top sidebar so have them sent to your email. Then join the conversation on FACEBOOK | TWITTER.

Joining The Nester and hundreds of bloggers for 31 Day Series. 

Posted on October 14, 2013, in 3-5 YEAR OLDS, 31 Days {In Pursuit} Of Your Child's Heart, FAMILY LIFE, MOTHERING ON PURPOSE, PARENTING, TEENS. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a Reply

