31 Days {In Pursuit} Of Your Child’s Heart- Day 7


Day 7: Write The Vision

31D
To read all post in the series, click {here}.

“I am so tired of living like this. Go to work. Come home. Feed the kids. Get to church. Go to sleep. Rinse and repeat! What are we doing? Where are we going? What is God’s vision for our family? What’s it supposed to look like for us?”

My husband gave me that look he gives me when I throw a million questions at him all at once. And of course, I took that as a cue to keep going.

“There has to be more. I just don’t believe this is how life in the Lord is supposed to look like.”

That conversation happened in 2010.

By October 2010, my husband and I knew it was time to make life-changing decisions. I’m not sure how it would look for you, but for us it meant leaving my full-time job to be a stay-at-home, homeschooling mom. Drastic, I know. Scary even.

Yet, we had such peace and confidence in God’s leading. Many opposed it. Some even called the decision to be home with my children “archaic”.  The way we saw it, if God was leading, we were following. If He said go. We were going.

But it didn’t happen without first sitting down to write the vision.

Write The Vision

For us it was leaving my job and homeschooling. For you it may be something else entirely. And that’s alright. But whatever it is. Write the vision.

If we’re going to pursue our children’s hearts, we must know the motivation behind it.

Is it to make ourselves look better?

Is it to feel ‘good enough’?

Is it to compensate for areas we’ve messed up in?

What’s the motivation for our pursuit?

My husband and I began to look at what we wanted to sow into our children? What values and character traits did we want to teach them? What legacy did we want to leave?

It boiled down to this:  pursuing their hearts meant pursuing God’s heart for them. 

Today’s Challenge

Today’s challenge requires us to write the vision. What’s God’s vision for these children? Understanding this will help us pursue their hearts without feeding their sinful nature. It will help us focus on the bigger picture rather than focusing on instant gratification. Pursing their hearts won’t be about how we can make them happy right now, but about how we can reach their hearts in a way that will point them back to God.

So go ahead. Write the vision. Set it before you. Then walk it out.

31dbutton2

Be sure to sign up via email on the top sidebar so you don’t miss a post in the series. Then join the conversation on FACEBOOK | TWITTER.

 

Posted on October 7, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

Leave a Reply

