31 Days {In Pursuit} Of Your Child’s Heart- Day 4


Day 4: Taking Care Of Me

31D

To read all post in the series, click {here}.

 

Alright Darlene, I thought this series was going to be about pursuing our child’s heart. We haven’t even gotten there yet! What’s up with that?!

I know. I know. I would love to move on too, but if we don’t start here we’ll be left exhausted on the sidelines wondering what went wrong. See, pursuing the hearts of our children doesn’t guarantee they will respond the way we’d like them to.

So be prepared to pursue for the long haul. Be ready to expend energy and strength. Get ready to go the distance. 

Check. Check. Check.

If we’re not careful, we can go into this like another To-Do list. Check. Check. Check. We pat ourselves on the back and smile at how great a job we’re doing. All the while, we’ve never even penetrated the thick, callous walls surrounding their hearts. 

If we’re going to persevere past the 31 day series, if we’re going to prevail in our pursuit, we must lay the foundation. 

  1. We must seek to have an undivided heart.
  2. We must forgive ourselves for the time wasted, repent, and take out the grace card.  
  3. We must make ‘taking care of ourselves’ a priority.

Taking Care Of Me

Some of the obstacles I’ve found in living life fully present when it comes to parenting are physical exhaustion and lack of energy. It’s difficult to be interested or engaged when we can barely keep our eyes open. Exhaustion and fatigue strip away our enthusiasm and motivation. 

Momma, many times the problem is not that you don’t get it right. Many times, the problem is that our bodies are starving for nutrition and rest. How different would things look with just a few tweaks? Would you be better prepared physically and mentally by simply making some disciplined changes?

I know I would!

Just this week, I woke up ready to tackle the day. I felt great! My daughter and I made breakfast, ate, then began our homeschooling day. I kid you not- by lunchtime, I was done. We had a great time learning. She worked diligently and was so well-behaved. Yet, I was mentally and physically drained. Can you relate? 

Today’s Challenge

Today’s challenge requires making some adjustments that would benefit us physically (and emotionally). For me it could look like this: 

  • Get to bed by 10:30 pm. How can I expect to pursue hearts if I’m exhausted the next morning? 
  • 30 minutes of exercise 3-5x/ week. How can I keep up with the fun, games, and playtime when I lack the energy?
  • Decrease sugar intake. Sugar highs/lows. Enough said!
  • Look for energy producing foods. How can I nourish this body in such a way that it will work for me and not against me? 

So are you ready? I hope so. Because we are {In Pursuit} of our child’s heart. By taking care of ourselves, we are better able to give of ourselves without wearing ourselves out.

Taking care of me so that I can take care of them (how about you?), 

31DButton

-Darlene

 

 

Be sure to sign up via email on the top sidebar so you don’t miss a post. Then join the conversation on FACEBOOK | TWITTER.

 

Joining The Nester and hundreds of bloggers for 31 Day Series. 

 

Posted on October 4, 2013, in 3-5 YEAR OLDS, 31 Days {In Pursuit} Of Your Child's Heart, FAMILY LIFE, MOTHERING ON PURPOSE, PARENTING, TEENS. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I am doing the “getting to bed earlier” no matter what and, boy, did I wake up refreshed and ready to take on the day ahead. This alone has made me more aware of what I am doing throughout the day. I have lost 1 lb. just have more focus.

    • I agree, Jackie! I’ve been getting to bed earlier and it truly does help focus. Mothering is one the most important and demanding jobs we will ever do. I’m asking God to show me the areas that I make it difficult by not taking care of things: my health, my home management plan, etc. It’s amazing how little tweaks make huge differences!

      Go Jackie! Cheering you on!

  2. Still with you…

  1. Pingback: 31 Days {In Pursuit} Of Your Child’s Heart- Day 1 |

  2. Pingback: 31 Days {In Pursuit} Of Your Child’s Heart- Day 5 |

Leave a Reply

