Build Your Children’s Library {How To Save Over 93% On Books}


Save on books



Building your children’s library doesn’t have to cost you your vacation fund. Here’s how I bought $346.00 worth of books for less than $20. That’s right, a savings of over 93%. I couldn’t be happier.

Know What You’re Looking For

In order to get the best deals, know what you’re looking for. The Complete Tales of Beatrix Potter has been on my wish list for a while now. When I found it for $0.99, I grabbed it without hesitation. On that book alone, I saved $21.99.

When you’re browsing online and see a book you want, make a note of it. The next time you’re out and about, keep your eyes open for those titles on your wish list.

(I paid $0.99 for each book below.)

DSC_0098

 

Thrift Shops & Yard Sales

Get some of your favorite titles without cleaning out your bank account. Check your local thrift stores and yard sales. I was amazed at the titles I found hidden on the shelves. And I didn’t skimp on quality. Every single book I purchased was in excellent condition.

(I paid $0.50 for each book below.)

DSC_0108

 

Be Patient

Don’t get discouraged if you don’t find anything on your first visit. With some patience, you’ll soon catch some amazing deals. Not all thrift stores are a cluttered mess. I was pleasantly surprised with the cleanliness and organization I found in most of the stores I shopped at. Although the books are not ordered by categories, with a little patience you’ll be able to find some gems.

(I paid $0.30 for each book below.)

DSC_0115

 

Look For Good Quality Books

You’ll find an array of choices at thrift stores and yard sales. Don’t waste your money. The point is not to fill your shelves with fluff. You can do that for free with your library card. In order to get your money’s worth, look for literature that is rich- books that can grow with your child. Look for the classics like Little House on the Prairie, Charlotte’s Web, and Black Beauty. These stories never get old.

(I paid $0.25 for each book below.)

DSC_0113

 

Now it’s your turn. What tips do you have for saving money when buying books?

 

 

 

Posted on July 23, 2013, in 3-5 YEAR OLDS, Homeschooling, MOTHERING ON PURPOSE, PARENTING and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Well done! You can some lovely titles in your photos.
    I recently compiled some book lists and in the process was amazed how cheap English classics could be picked up for: usually for as little as $2. Amazing! So I have a goal of building up our own library of these wonderful titles, like Pride and Prejudice, Treasure Island, The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, A Tale of Two Cities, etc, When my children are of age they will have them all at their fingertips. And of course I might have to refresh my memory and read them myself! – Victoria

    • Hi Victoria! Thank you for stopping by {In Pursuit}! I would love to see your book lists. Are they on your blog? If not, shoot me an email. I used to think, “Oh, all these books!!! I have to get rid of the clutter!” The problem was that the clutter was due to a bookshelf filled with books that didn’t do much for the reader. In Kindergarten I started reading my daughter books like Winnie the Pooh (A.A. Milne), Charlotte’s Web, etc. I was surprised that even though the language and sentence structure was a lot harder than the shorter books, she was hooked. We spent so many wonderful hours reading through these books. That’s when I realized we shouldn’t limit our children to fluff because they understand a lot more than we give them credit for. This has also proven true with our Bible reading. The more I read, the more she wants to hear. How old are your children?

Leave a Reply

