Resistance {What Are You Going To Do About It?}


Have you ever made up your mind to do something great? Something amazing? Something completely out of your comfort zone?

You put your gear on, lace up your sneaks, grab your backpack, and set out on a new adventure. The sky is beautiful. The view before you breathtaking. You’re exhilarated. Excitement is brewing in your gut. You’re so sure life will never again be the same.

And you’re off.

346445241_27561cc650_o

Photo Credit: Skinnyde via Compfight cc

Resistance

It’s easy to get caught up in the excitement of the journey. I know, I’ve been there. However, what most people don’t tell you is that you will encounter resistance and opposition past the bend in the road.

You might as well get used to the idea now. You might as well prepare yourself. Brace yourself for the fight ahead.

Most people miss out on their destination because of what happens when they reach that bend in the road.

Fear takes over. Exhaustion and fatigue threaten our survival. We’re not so sure we can take on this giant.

My friend, if you’re going to push past the resistance you’re going to have to:

  1. Focus. Now is not the time to get distracted. Zoom in on your goal. Be crystal clear on what your destination looks like. 
  2. Look fear in the face and say, “You are not going to keep me from getting to my place of purpose!”
  3. Remind yourself: “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me,” (Phil. 4:13).
  4. Push back. It won’t be easy. You might not have the strength. Push back anyway. 

And when you’ve manage to push through the resistance, when you’re feeling a little high on your victory, be forewarned resistance will poke its ugly head out again.

But next time you’ll be ready. Next time courage will rise up faster. Next time you’ll know what to do.

Do it again!

Today’s Challenge:

Q?: What resistance or opposition have you encountered on your journey? How have you overcome?  Or perhaps you’re just meeting resistance for the first time… what are you going to do about it? Share with me by leaving a comment below or on my Facebook page. I want to hear from you!

Know of someone who would benefit from this post? Go ahead and share it by hitting “Like” below or sharing it via email.

Don’t forget to subscribe by email (see top-left sidebar) to be notified when a new post goes up.

Posted on July 8, 2013, in 2013 {Live Life Fully Committed} Challenge, DAILY LIFE, LIFE, LIFE LESSONS, SPIRITUAL GROWTH. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. New follower here 🙂 I definitely am feeling the resistance today in my intuitive eating and health journey lately. Pulling back and not wanting to do all He has shown me. Thank you for your words!

    • Hi Kim, it’s always so nice to meet our new followers. Thank you so much for stopping by and even further, for sharing your heart. I can totally understand feeling the resistance in your healthy journey. It’s been a long time since I wrote about health. Mostly because I reached a point where I felt I had no clue what I was doing. It’s been a long process for me to. Be encouraged. You are not alone in this! Praying God gives you the strength and endurance to keep moving forward.

      {In Pursuit} alongside you,

      Darlene

Leave a Reply

