{From Our Archives} Life Projects: Get Rid Of The Mental Clutter


Can you believe we only have 6 months left in the year? As the time allotted me passes through the hourglass, I am reminded of the importance of making each day count. In an effort to live life intentionally, I’m going back to last year’s post, Life Projects: Get Rid Of The Mental Clutter. 

It’s mid-year evaluation time and that includes taking a look at all the half-finished business that gnaws at us. I’m {In Pursuit} of the abundant life God has for me. How about you?

Great!

So let’s review how to clear the mental clutter. And when we’re done reading, let’s go finish what we started!

Are you ready to complete some projects?

finsihwhatyoustarted

* * *

There’s something about projects left undone which cause anxiety and what I call, mind clutter. Every project left undone is a reminder of where you lack. It could be something as simple as folding the laundry and putting it away, rather than walking past a pile of clean laundry every single day. Or it could be something like finishing a paint job in your home.

True Story

My husband painted the kitchen in what I thought would be the oh-so-perfect burnt-orange color. Once he finished the last stroke of the paintbrush, I realized I totally hated it! 

One day I came into the kitchen to find a very sloppy white-colored paint job. I looked at my husband and said, “What is this? This is horrible!”

My husband’s solution to the horrible burnt-orange paint job was to go over it with primer. It didn’t really matter that we hadn’t yet selected or purchased a new can of paint. He got rid of the burnt orange color I hated. Now I just had to deal with primed walls, no paint color at all!

The new paint never went up. It wasn’t until after our house fire that the walls were finally painted.

So you see, I know what I’m talking about when it comes to undone, half done, partially finished, almost completed projects. I’ve been there. I’ve done it. And now, I’m just looking for a solution.

[Read more {here} and get your free printable]

 

Posted on June 27, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

