Jesus, If You’re Willing {You Can Make Me Clean}


Hope is rising up and I can’t shake off the feeling of expectancy. Like the man with leprosy whose skin disease brought great suffering, I’ve broken through the crowd. Kneeling at Jesus’ feet, I’ve prayed the same prayer, “Lord, if you’re willing, you can make me clean.” 

Jesus, If You’re Willing…

I’ve walked around with this condition for a while now, Jesus. Others reject me. Others abandoned me. Others do not understand. They ridicule and ostracize me. These lesions are painful. I’m not sure how I got here. I don’t know how to fix it. But I know I can’t live with this condition. Jesus, if you’re willing… you can make me clean. 

Can you relate to this leper? I know I can.

The difference between that leper and I is skin deep. His condition was obvious to the human eye. My leprosy goes down deep, hidden and concealed by the exterior. Issues of the heart aren’t packaged into neat little boxes. They’re complex.

3470650293_60b27d6539

Photo Credit: qthomasbower via Compfight cc

They take time to deconstruct, process, and work through. (In the near future, I hope to share a bit more on how we can do just that.)

For now though, can I just encourage you friend? Jesus is not afraid of your condition. Your illness, your disease, your leprosy (both internal and external) does not intimidate Him. It won’t scare Him off and it won’t leave Him scrambling for answers.

That leper we talked about, he was courageous. In a time when lepers were feared and isolated from the rest of society, this man showed audacious faith. He didn’t care who was looking at him. He knew Jesus was able to heal. The question remaining was, “Jesus, are you willing?”

Isn’t That Just Like Us?

And isn’t that the same question we grapple with?

We know God is able. We believe He parted the Red Sea bringing His people out of captivity. We believe Jesus was born of a virgin, grew up and paid the ultimate sacrifice for our sins, death on the cross. We believe He resurrected and now we have eternal life with Him. We believe He can do what He says He can do.

But Jesus, Are You Willing?

Are you willing to do it for me?

“Jesus reached out his hand and touched the man.

“I am willing,” He said. “Be clean!”

Immediately he was cured of his leprosy.” (Matthew 8:3)

{Living Life -with a heart- Fully Committed} to God starts here at the feet of Jesus. And Yes! Yes! Yes! He is willing.

Today’s Challenge:

Go on and read the story for yourself. Four little verses found in Matthew 8:1-4.

What’s keeping you in isolation? What condition are you hiding? Can you find courage to take an audacious step of faith towards Jesus? Leave me a comment below, or on my Facebook page. We are on this amazing journey together! 

Know of someone who would benefit from this post? Go ahead and share it by hitting “Like” below or sharing it via email.

Don’t forget to subscribe by email (see top-left sidebar) to be notified when a new post goes up

Posted on June 25, 2013, in 2013 {Live Life Fully Committed} Challenge, DEVOTIONALS, LIFE, LIFE LESSONS, PRAYER, SPIRITUAL GROWTH and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. One of the things I sometimes overlook in this story is the courage required of the leper to even approach Jesus and ask for healing. So many times our inadequacies make us feel like God is unapproachable, like Jesus wouldn’t want anything to do with us, so why even try? But in reality, those are the times when we need more than anything else to approach God and ask for healing. This story remind us that Jesus is willing, and that God wants us to approach Him, He wants to provide us with healing. Thank you, Darlene, for reminding us how we need to have the courage of the leper and turn to God when life gets broken.

    • Paul, thanks for stopping by {In Pursuit} and more than that, thank you for sharing your thoughts. I used to run from the grace, love, and forgiveness of God. Isn’t it like us to hide behind the bush in shame like Adam and Eve did so many years ago. We’re so much like them. In 2010 when we had our house fire, I was grieving the loss of my home along with several other things. I felt misunderstood. I felt misinterpreted. It’s difficult to wrap grief up neatly. It’s messy. It shakes our foundations causing us to grope for the one truth our souls long to hold onto… God is good and He’s good over my life. I felt God saying, “Why won’t you let me sit here with you, Darlene? I just want to sit here. We don’t need to talk.” He gave me permission to grieve. He gave me the approval I needed through this season of my life. And now, when things get messy I am reminded He wants to sit with me through this. I am learning to run to God, rather than from Him. It’s been life transforming.

      It definitely requires courage to expose your grime and grit before a Holy God. I dare say, it takes complete trust that He is able to make us clean.

  2. Thank you for sharing today on my Facebook page, Darlene. I’m especially grateful as reading your words again reminded me of how I need to stop in more frequently. You spoke right to my heart. Maybe what I’m struggling with is not only if He is willing to make me clean but if I’m ready to fully surrender my condition to Him when asking Him to make me clean. Does that make sense? There is just this one thing that I continue to hold on to and know full surrender is required. Thank you again. I needed this today.
    Blessings,
    Beth

    • You are most welcome. I’m looking forward to connecting more with other bloggers and writers. I guess you can say I want to be more intentional with my online relationships. So really, thank you for the opportunity. And thank you for sharing so transparently. I can relate to the whole being “willing to surrender my condition” thing. There’s so much to this, it’s difficult to squeeze into a comment reply. I will be speaking more on this in the future. I can tell you though, it makes perfect sense. I pray God’s grace would abound in your life during this season enabling you to open your grip and release whatever it is He’s asking you to surrender. He’s willing… to make us clean. Blessings, peace, and love.

  1. Pingback: Be made clean | Spiritual Lives Of Women

Leave a Reply

