5 Minute Friday: Rhythm


5minutefriday

It’s called 5 Minute Friday’s.

It’s a group of writers, who after receiving a word prompt, have 5 minutes to write. Lisa-Jo Baker challenges us to write for 5 minutes with no grammar rules, no editing, just set the timer and Go! Want to join us? Find out how, {here}.

Here I….

Go!

RHYTHM:

I hear the rhythm of the drum playing loudly.

It sounds different than usual. Irreverent yet at the same time holy.

I hear the rhythm of the drum playing loudly.

Nothing like what they’ve expected.

Nothing like what I’ve heard before.

And you know, I feel comfortable here.

My feet are tap, tap, tapping to this new beat.

My heart is singing.

My soul is dancing.

I hear the rhythm of the drum playing loudly.

And I, well, I dance.

Freely.

Uninhibited.

Without regret.

With absolutely no shame.

This is my song.

Orchestrated by the Master Composer.

I hear the rhythm of the drum playing loudly.

This is my dance.

And I dance, in step with this rhythm, to glorify Him!

(STOP!)

Leave me a comment below, or on my Facebook page. I would love to hear about the rhythm in your life!

Know someone who’d like this post? Go ahead and share it by hitting “Like” below or sharing it via email.

Don’t forget to subscribe by email (see top-left sidebar) to be notified when a new post goes up.

 

 


Posted on June 21, 2013, in 5 Minute Friday. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Debi @ DebiStangeland.com

    Yay! What a wonderful testimony to the master composer. I loved it.

  2. We are free as long as we dance to the Master Composer’s song aren’t we. I don’t always hear the beat as I should but those are the times I let the noise of the world drown it out.

  3. Love this! It’s amazing how His rhythm makes us free…I felt like you were writing my story, too, in these beautiful words. Blessings, friend! 🙂

  4. Beautiful words. Visiting from the five minute Friday.

  5. loved your dance through this weeks prompt Darlene. have a great weekend.

  6. This is my song.

    Orchestrated by the Master Composer.

    Oh what a gift to always be able to hear the Master. Your words were lovely!

    Blessings on your Friday!

    ~Angie

    • Thanks for stopping by, Angie… I didn’t always hear the Composers melody. Truth be told, I didn’t always step into the rhythm. But when it happens, it’s glorious. It’s exactly where we’re supposed to be 🙂

  7. Nice rhythm to that little poem, my dear!

Leave a Reply

