The Law Of Intentionality {Do you have a plan for your personal growth?}


A life plan? Uh, I have a day plan. Does that count? I have a few goals and priorities. How about that? Is that good enough?

LawofIntentionality

 Reading through John Maxwell’s book, The 15 Invaluable Laws of Growth, I am immediately confronted with this question.

“Life is in session. Are you present?” 

John walks us through the Law of Intentionality. Personal growth does not just happen on its own. Instead, it’s something that requires action on our behalf. It requires critical thinking, time, and effort. We must be intentional about it.

Many of us set goals. And goals are great. The problem with goals though, is that they may or may not happen. Goals without a personal growth plan leave us frustrated. On the other hand, when we pursue personal growth, we grow. Simple. And as we grow, we find that many of those goals we had were accomplished along the way.

Although personal growth has always been important to me, John reminds me that even more important than the desire to grow, is the intentionality in my pursuit.

What do we want our lives to look like in 5 years? Do our daily activities mark a clear path from here to there? Because if they don’t, then chances are we will never see what we’d hope for.

Let’s get intentional about seeing growth in our lives. Let’s not sit around wishing for things to change or get better. Let’s go ahead and close that gap between where we are today and where we wish to be one day. Are you ready?

Today’s Challenge:

Question: Do you have a personal growth plan? Are your daily actions/tasks contributing to this growth plan? Leave me a comment below or join the conversation on our Facebook page.  I’d love to hear from you!

Know of someone who would benefit from this post? Go ahead and share it by hitting “Like” below or sharing it via email.

 

Posted on June 10, 2013, in 2013 {Live Life Fully Committed} Challenge, DAILY LIFE, LIFE, LIFE GOALS, LIFE LESSONS, SPIRITUAL GROWTH and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. How divinely providential that I should be reading this post, now.

    I am settling down for the evening, after just finishing dinner. I decided to visit a few blogs before tackling 2 tasks this evening; one of those tasks is writing out a life plan for myself.

    As usual, I’m inspired by you, Darlene!

    • Well, well Ms. Diva! Providential indeed 😉
      So glad you stopped by today. I encourage you to get that personal growth plan down on paper. I’m working on mine. Then stop by and let me know how it went!!

  2. My personal growth plan is limited right now to my head! I surely need to get it down on paper! Thanks so much for reminding me of how important that planning is. Blessings!

    • Carri, thanks for stopping by {In Pursuit}! I can totally relate to the whole {personal plan in my head} thing. Let’s just say, that’s why I’m writing these posts. They hold me accountable to doing the ‘hard stuff’. So we are most definitely in this together. Let me know how it goes when you get it out of your head and onto paper 🙂

  3. Ouch! Gotta get some pen and paper out!

  1. Pingback: They Lacked Confidence, They Didn’t Trust God, and They Didn’t Believe It Existed |

Leave a Reply

