Get Past The Opinions, Criticism, and Even Beliefs Others Impose On You


From educational systems, financial chaos, religiosity… we live in a world where one side fights against the other, and you’re left in the middle wondering which way is best.

There are glass ceilings, manipulative authorities, financial limitations, popularity circles, political persuasions, religious dogmas…

Ever felt stuck between so many voices shouting, “This is the way!”?

I know I did. Want to know the secret to Freedom?

I found it in 2010, after our house fire. I spent years seeking approval from everyone around me. I was so afraid of making decisions because there was always someone there to point out just how ‘wrong’ my decision was.

There was always someone there to point out who I should hang with, who I should follow, where I should serve, where I should work, what school to send my children to, and then there were those who said homeschooling was not a wise decision- and the list went on and on.

The Secret I Was Talking About?

God’s word.

John 14:6,  “I am the way and the truth and the life.” 

John 10:27, “My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me;”

I spent years unable to trust my own thoughts and decisions. After our house fire, I found myself in a very deep depression. To read more on my story, go {here}.

God met me there. I learned He wanted to get intimate with me. There were conversations only He and I could share. I learned to hear His voice and trust in His leading.

Two simple verses transformed my life. Guidance and counsel are necessary. Proverbs tells us of the wisdom found in a multitude of counselors. But counsel, without first going to the Lord in prayer, and seeking His wisdom from the Scriptures, leaves us more confused in the end.

Know What God Says…

Screen Shot 2013-06-06 at 11.37.42 PM

You can make wise decisions. You have the power of the Holy Spirit at work in you and through you.

  • “In Him we live and move and have our being,” (Acts 17:28).
  • He loves you and the moment you accepted Jesus Christ as your Savior, the Holy Spirit came to dwell within (1 Corinthians 3:16).
  • He leads us and guides us in all truth (John 16:13).
  • The steps of the righteous are ordered by the Lord (Psalm 37:23).
  • God “has blessed us with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly realms because we are united with Christ” (Ephesians 1:3).
  • And just in case you’re still unsure: “If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you,” (James 1:5).

This world will throw so many choices, options, and alternative paths at you.

It is absolutely necessary to be resolute in your convictions and beliefs. The only way we can do this is by the power and freedom found in God. His word is a lamp unto our feet lighting the way (Psalm 119:104).

Get with God and get the clear direction for your life you’ve been searching for. Then join me here next week as we work on a life plan and set some goals.

Get past the opinions, criticism, and beliefs others impose on you and start walking in the truth of God’s word.

Question: Have you felt boxed in by the circumstances and people around you? Have you sought direction in God’s word? Leave me a comment below or join the conversation on our Facebook page.  I’d love to hear from you!

Know of someone who would benefit from this post? Go ahead and share it by hitting like below or share it via email.

Posted on June 7, 2013, in 2013 {Live Life Fully Committed} Challenge, LIFE, SPIRITUAL GROWTH and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

