5 Minute Friday: Friend


5minutefriday

It’s called 5 Minute Friday’s.

It’s a group of writers, who after receiving a word prompt, have 5 minutes to write. Lisa-Jo Baker challenges us to write for 5 minutes with no grammar rules, no editing, just set the timer and Go! Want to join us? Find out how, {here}.

Here I….

Go!

FRIEND:

How do you put into words what you’re unable to articulate?

How do make sense of this longing in your heart- the one you fight so often?

How do you ask for something you can’t explain. For someone you can’t describe?

How do you reach across the Facebook wall and shout, “I’m here! Do you see me?”

How do you shout loudly through the Twitter roll, “Is anybody there?”

Who will walk through this road with me?

Who will see my faults and be okay with ‘me’?

Who will get excited about my victories?

Dance with me over dreams come true?

Who will hold my hand when I am hurting?

Laugh with me till I can’t breathe?

How do you ask for something, you cannot explain.

-you haven’t fully experienced.

Simply close your eyes and whisper to the One who knows my heart’s desire-

“Send me that like minded, soul connecting, kind of person. 

Lord, send me that friend.”

(STOP!)

Today’s Challenge: 

Feeling lonely? Feel like you’re in a room with a hundred people who just don’t get you? 

Have you tried telling Jesus? Go ahead, He already knows your heart’s desire for true friendship…

Note: To be notified of responses to your comments, please make sure to checkmark “Notify me of follow-up comments via email”.


Be notified when a new post goes up.

Simply subscribe via email on the top right-hand side-bar.

Then join the conversation on our Facebook page.


UHeb-300x250_thumb.png

For 6 days only, more than 75 widely-known bloggers and authors in the homemaking sphere have joined together to offer 97 of their most popular eBooks and eCourses, valued at just over $600, for the incredibly low price of $29.97.  Find out more {here}.


Find out more about the

LLFC Logo


Posted on April 26, 2013, in 2013 {Live Life Fully Committed} Challenge, 5 Minute Friday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 33 Comments.

  1. Yes…God knows and hears the cries of our hearts. When I was so utterly lonely…God answered by leading me to Moms In Prayer, where I found deep friendship. That’s where I started to feel heard and seen. But I do believe there is an emptiness we all have that no one can fill…only Jesus.

    • Elise, I am in complete agreement that only Jesus can fill the emptiness of our soul. I have been blessed with an amazing family and church family who love and encourage me. Friday’s 5 Minute prompt reminded me of the longing in a woman’s heart for one-on-one fellowship- Not just any kind of friendship, but a Ruth and Noemi covenant relationship. So glad to hear God answered your prayers by leading you to a Moms In Prayer group 🙂

  2. I can relate to the hello out there thing 🙂 . I am blessed to have a real friend I can tell anything to but I only get to see her in person like once a year, maybe twice. What you said is so true about the praying for what we need in friends. I have done that too recently, and hoping to meet more friends in my community so I don’t have to wait for those awesome friend times once a year or so.

    • Praying with you Rebekah! God knows your heart for community 🙂 He will bring anointed women of God, who will be able to speak life and wisdom into your life… and when He does, make sure to let me know….

  3. Your words have spoken the feelings of my heart. Thank you for sharing.

  4. It certainly feels like that, sometimes, doesn’t it? Yelling out to everyone else “I’m here!” I can relate to that one for sure. 🙂

    • Hi Brie! I’m learning to ‘see’ others, rather than see ‘through’ them… That’s one good thing I’ve learned in this search. I have an amazing friend who knows the nitty gritty of my life, whom I trust and love so much. But I can’t say that we really hang out and live life out together. That’s what I’m praying for.

  5. This is fantastic, and completely my heart. You wrote the words I wanted to find. Sometimes all you can do is pray and pray and pray, and when all else fails, you always have Jesus. Sometimes He is your only and best friend. But, at least He is a friend we can never lose!!

    • Alyssa, I’ve been there. It’s a lonely place. I can say this, I have an amazing friend who I can talk to about anything…absolutely anything and I know I will not be judged, but encouraged. I do the same for her. And I have an amazing church family who loves on me. But my search for true friendship and community is about living life together… That is something I am seeing God put into order more and more each day. It’s taking me, being for someone else, what I myself am looking for. And I’m blessed all the more for it 🙂

  6. Tears and smiles are what this post brings to my heart. GODly connections are a great desire because they fulfill HIS will. “For where two or more are gathered in HIS name, there HE is in their midst”. Amen and Amen.

    • Jackie, you have no idea how much you family has blessed mine. It’s amazing to see how stories unfold and connect and bring people together. Sending my love…Thank you for being you!

  7. It’s one of the greatest human needs (outside of food and shelter) – this sense of belonging. I have found myself in a very similar place of late. Hoping you find that friendship you seek. Blessings.

    • Thanks for stopping by Bekka. Last year the Lord really impressed in my spirit that it’s not so much what others can offer me, but what can I contribute. I think as women, we can get stuck in what we don’t have that we forget we were each created with our own gifts. We have the ability to contribute… not only that, but can we contribute even if we don’t get anything in return. Can we love with our gifts, trusting God will take care of our heart’s prayer for true friendship. I know He is faithful. I know He is at work. Praying, you too, would find divine connections:)

  8. Girl, have you been listening to my prayers??
    loved this….because we’ve all had those thoughts, but you’re brave enough to bring them to the One who can do something about it! {HUGS}

    So blessed how He placed you in my life, Darlene…

    • Tiptoeing bravely… it’s my {2013 Live Life Fully Committed} Challenge… Because sometimes he asks us to leap, and other times a simple tiptoe in the right direction changes everything. That happened to me when I said ‘yes’ to (in)courage’s invitation to join… The feeling is mutual my friend. You have such a sweet and encouraging spirit. Love that!

  9. Appreciate you sharing.

  10. It’s amazing how full our social rosters can become, and yet we can feel so incredibly distant and disconnected. May we connect ourselves with the source of what defines “relationship”, and echo that as He sends us out….great words here…:)

    • Thank you for stopping by {In Pursuit} Pastor Wick. I am in complete agreement that connecting ourselves to the source is the answer. For in him we live, we move, and we have our being… As I wrote today’s post, I was sharing a cry that I held in my heart for years. I am seeing the answer of God in the most unexpected places. I am also learning to be to someone else what I want someone to be to me. There’s freedom in getting outside of our own ‘wants’, serving and loving others, trusting that God will take care of our needs. Have an amazing day on purpose, and thanks again for sharing.

  11. Oh yes, I know this feeling well. But isn’t it wonderful and miraculous when He sends us just what we ask for? Thanks for being so open with this one. I loved it.

    • Debi, I find that as I open up with the Lord about this area of my life, he is bringing women who demonstrate friendships in ways I’ve never known. So in an odd way, I’m actually learning so much from them. May God continue to grow up with god-connections! Thank you for your words today 🙂

  12. Oh sweet friend, I too share the same thoughts. The very same, and for years. The Lord will bring us both friends that will close that gap. He knows that we need this, that we desire it. And he desires those things for us, for us to be able to walk with someone through this world both with the love for our true father.
    I pray he brings you closer to them soon!
    xo Leigh

  13. Reaching across…
    May friends rise up to meet you and may your words continue to be a balm to the heart that needs holding. Thanks for writing, it blessed me.

    • Thank you Nasreen both for ‘reaching across’ and for your kind words. This part of my journey is unfolding before me… and I’m hearing God whisper “trust and move without fear”. Taking leaps of faith… believing that He holds my heart and my dreams in His hands 🙂

  14. ““Send me that like minded, soul connecting, kind of person. Lord, send me that friend.””
    yes! i love how He’s given me so many through the blogging world. 🙂 blessings to you honey!

  15. Great post…I have to tell myself that when friendships sometimes don’t look like what I think they should, He knows what I desire and what I need…and He gives. Always. Blessings, friend! Happy Friday! 🙂

  1. Pingback: Friend – #fiveminutefriday | Pilgrim Wanderings

Leave a Reply

