5 Minute Friday: Jump


5minutefriday

It’s called 5 Minute Friday’s.

It’s a group of writers, who after receiving a word prompt, have 5 minutes to write. Lisa-Jo Baker challenges us to write for 5 minutes with no grammar rules, no editing, just set the timer and Go! Want to join us? Find out how, {here}.

Here I….

Go!

JUMP:

I’ve been here before. The place between the edge of where you’re at and the dreams that stand ahead of you. I’ve stood here in the past, heart thumping, sweaty palms, deep breaths… all of them indicators of the fear that gripped my soul.

But this time, there’s a voice inside beckoning. When I quiet the shouting voices of fear, I can almost hear it clearly.

“Come…”

I hesitate. It’s so scary. Free falling has never been my forte. I like to hold on tight. I like to feel the concrete beneath me. It’s where I’m safe. It’s where I feel grounded.

Yet I hear the rumbling. I hear the prompting. It continues to call me out of my comfort zone.

And you know, this time I think I’ll just close my eyes, breathe deeply, and…

Jump…

(STOP!)

Today’s Challenge: 

Look around. What’s broken? Give it to the One with the power to make it all glorious!

Note: To be notified of responses to your comments, please make sure to checkmark “Notify me of follow-up comments via email”.


Want to be the first to know when a new post goes up?

Now you can save time and keep on top of everything

that’s new here on {In Pursuit}.

Simply subscribe via email on the top right-hand side-bar.

You can also join the conversation on our Facebook page.


Find out more about the

LLFC Logo


Posted on April 19, 2013, in 2013 {Live Life Fully Committed} Challenge, 5 Minute Friday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. I loved your post about jumping. After years of anxiety and fear, jumping was not something I did easily. Thanks for this great encouragement to step out..

  2. Laura Hedgecock

    I love “The place between the edge of where you’re at and the dreams that stand ahead of you.”

    Laura Hedgecock
    http://www.TreasureChestofMemories.com
    http://www.Twitter.com/LauraLHedgecock

  3. Hi Darlene,
    Thanks for introducing yourself at my blog…and I could relate to your words…When God starts moving and calling, it is scary and exciting at the same time…isn’t it encouraging to know He will catch us…blessings 🙂

  4. Great post! I’m with you…I don’t love the free fall part of jumping, but there’s something so amazing about knowing that He’s right there with us. Thank you for sharing…happy weekend, friend! 🙂

  5. It’s so true- the inner voice that beckons quietly can drown out the sounds of our own fear:) Wonderful!

  6. Jumping with you! Beautiful! I could feel my own heart begin thumping faster as I read this. Thank you for sharing. Blessings.

  7. My 5 minutes was so similar to yours. I love this. I love seeing God work in SO many lives at once. Truly amazing.

Leave a Reply

