Fear’s Masqueraded Attempt {On The Other Side: God-dreams!}


llfc-logo_thumb9There comes a point in the walk of a believer when fear stands before you, terrorizing you with all its claims. It positions itself between you and your dreams, threatening violence, threatening death.

“You will not move past this point. Don’t even bother. Give it up, Darlene. It’s pointless. You’re never going to get past me. I’m here to stay.”

I can’t tell you how many times the enemy has tried to have this conversation with me. I used to entertain it. I used to stand there and let him menace me and intimidate me. I used to stand there and cry as hope was crushed right in front of me.

I used to turn around and give up, relinquishing the God-dreams on the other side.

But not anymore.

Fear’s masqueraded attempt of crushing me no longer deceives me. I’ve figured out it’s all a hoax, a ploy. A forceful attempt at swindling me from what’s rightfully mine.

Things are different.

Fear continues to stand in front of me, “You will never make it, Darlene. You will continue to fail. All your fight will be for nothing. You are NOT going anywhere!”

And that’s when hope builds up within me, “I know the plans I have for you declares the Lord, plans to prosper you, to bring you hope and a new future.”

And fear shouts louder, “I said, YOU ARE NOT GOING ANYWHERE. And even if you did move, you don’t really think God is going to show up, do you? You’re going to fall flat on your face. Then you’ll see. You’ll be left there humiliated!”

And faith swells up inside of me, “He will not leave me nor forsake me. You said, ‘be still and know that I am God’. If God is for me, who can be against me? Hope does not disappoint. Take courage and see the deliverance of the Lord!”

And fear sees my countenance change, sees me stand up a little straighter.

Fear looks into my eyes and sees boldness and courage rising up. In one last attempt of intimidation, “You are worthless. You know nothing. He could never use you. Just look at you… pathetic!”

Fear knows how to pierce the heart.

Years ago, I would have dropped my head low, and with a punctured and perforated spirit, I would have consented to these claims.

Today, I look fear in the eye and with complete certainty, I declare, “God has not given me a spirit of fear, but of power, of love, and of a sound mind. I am fearfully and wonderfully made. I am loved by God, redeemed by Jesus, and led by the Holy Spirit. I am God’s amazing masterpiece, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand that I should walk in them. So get out of the way, I’m going forward and God’s got my back!

(2 Tim. 1:7, Ephesians 2:10, Psalm 139:14, Romans 8:31)

Then I take the next step. God’s grace and strength is made strong in my weakness. And when I look back, fear doesn’t look so big anymore.

And I move forward towards those God-dreams on the other side.

Today’s Challenge:

  • What fears do you have?
  • What is fear shouting at you?
  • What does God’s word say? Write down those Scripture verses, memorize them, get them deep down in your spirit.
  • Then take the next step. God is for you!

 

 

Note: To be notified of responses to your comments, please make sure to checkmark “Notify me of follow-up comments via email”.


Want to be the first to know when a new post goes up?

Now you can save time and keep on top of everything

that’s new here on {In Pursuit}.

Simply subscribe via email on the top right-hand side-bar.

You can also join the conversation on our Facebook page.


If you’re new to the blog and want to find out more about the

{Live Life Fully Committed Challenge}

click {here} or to get the Recap, go {here}.

LLFC Logo


Posted on April 15, 2013, in 2013 {Live Life Fully Committed} Challenge, Our Christian Walk and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thank you my friend! I know the enemy is at work distracting me with so many things to juggle around keeping me from those real dates (quality time) with the Lord. Feel somewhat disconnected. ..
    Thank you for reminding me to declare the Word back at fear!

    • My friend. Don’t be discouraged. It happens to all of us. The important thing is that you recognized it. All it takes is a moment in God’s presence. Ask God, “what needs to change? What needs my immediate attention?” He will show you. Then take that next step.
      Love you and I am praying God’s strength and direction over your life 🙂

Leave a Reply

