5 Minute Friday: After


5minutefriday

It’s called 5 Minute Friday’s.

It’s a group of writers, who after receiving a word prompt, have 5 minutes to write. Lisa-Jo Baker challenges us to write for 5 minutes with no grammar rules, no editing, just set the timer and Go! Want to join us? Find out how, {here}.

Here I….

Go!

AFTER:

Now, the walls press in.

The demands of life push their way into my every day.

Now, the responsibilities are great.

The rewards are far and in-between.

Now, the littles need so much of me,

and the older ones, well, they need me too.

Now, I sow, and I sow, and I sow.

Now, I keep my eyes on Jesus,

the author and perfecter of my faith.

He set His eyes on the joy set before Him.

He kept his focus on the prize ahead.

Now, I take seed and bury it in dirt,

cover it up with prayers and faith.

Because I have hope that

After all is said and done,

I will reap the harvest of all that was sown.

(STOP!)

Today’s Challenge: 

Do not tire in doing what is right, in due season, if you do not tire, you will reap the harvest (Galatians 6:9).

  • What can you sow today, understanding that you will reap the harvest tomorrow?

Note: To be notified of responses to your comments, please make sure to checkmark “Notify me of follow-up comments via email”.


Want to be the first to know when a new post goes up?

Now you can save time and keep on top of everything

that’s new here on {In Pursuit}.

Simply subscribe via email on the top right-hand side-bar.

You can also join the conversation on our Facebook page.


Find out more about the

LLFC Logo


Posted on April 5, 2013, in 2013 {Live Life Fully Committed} Challenge, 5 Minute Friday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Praying for you as you continue to sow those seeds.

  2. Wow! I could really feel the weight of life in your writing, but also the promise of what is to come. Thank you for sharing today.

  3. Oh love this Darlene, we forget that Our God does not leave us to do it alone in our sowing, and that we will reap a harvest.

  4. You definitely captured the relentlessness of life everyday, and the peace that will come when we can finally rest and watch how God’s plan has unfolded in all our little tasks. Wonderful.

    • Lauren, let me just say, it took me years to not “despise the small beginnings”. I often remind myself… there is purpose, even in this (whatever this may be at the time)… Living in expectancy!

  5. wow! i could have written that myself – especially the bit about the demands of bigs and littles… all at once.

    beautiful!

  6. So beautiful, Darlene! For me, I try to sow the seeds of writing and exercise, since I know that if I don’t practice them every day, I will never get stronger. Thank you for sharing and making me reflect on why we practice. 🙂

    • Those are great seeds to sow. Lord knows, I am working on the whole healthy lifestyle part. Now there is a challenge 😉
      Motherhood is one of the most difficult callings. We have to show up every day, even if we don’t get a pat on the back. Encouraging myself in the Lord and in His promises have kept me moving forward purposefully.

Leave a Reply

