5 Minute Friday: Broken


5minutefriday

It’s called 5 Minute Friday’s.

It’s a group of writers, who after receiving a word prompt, have 5 minutes to write. Lisa-Jo Baker challenges us to write for 5 minutes with no grammar rules, no editing, just set the timer and Go! Want to join us? Find out how, {here}.

Here I….

Go!

BROKEN:

It’s what causes things to ‘not work’ the way they should.

It’s what causes something, usually wonderful, to be more of a hassle and a frustration.

Broken.

It’s the way things feel right now.

I’m not talking about brokenness, I’m talking about broken…

Everything, that once made perfect sense-

Everything, that once had a perfect place-

It no longer fits together.

Systems are broken, patterns are broken, precious ‘stuff’ falling out all over the place.

And so I say, “Jesus, it’s all broken. Some of it others broke.  Some of it broke accidentally. But most of it, I broke.”

And I sit surrounded by many broken pieces.

It’s so good to know that in front of me is a Resurrection celebration. I find hope in knowing that his death, followed by a resurrection, is proof enough that broken pieces can be made glorious when we put them in the hands of God!

(STOP!)

Today’s Challenge: 

Look around. What’s broken? Give it to the One with the power to make it all glorious!

Note: To be notified of responses to your comments, please make sure to checkmark “Notify me of follow-up comments via email”.


Want to be the first to know when a new post goes up?

Now you can save time and keep on top of everything

that’s new here on {In Pursuit}.

Simply subscribe via email on the top right-hand side-bar.

You can also join the conversation on our Facebook page.


Find out more about the

LLFC Logo


Posted on March 29, 2013, in 2013 {Live Life Fully Committed} Challenge, 5 Minute Friday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. You have a beautiful way of expressing things. Thank you.
    This is my second FMF week.
    I added the link to your post in my FMF post. I hope that’s okay.
    Be blessed, Kimberly

  2. Amen to your post! So good….to look around and give it to the One with power to make it all brokenness. Like focussing our affection and eyes on the object (Jesus) not our brokenness. I love this. Blessings and have a blessed Easter!

    • Friend, thanks for stopping by… This week’s 5 Minute Friday seemed so appropriate. I guess usually I’m looking at all the broken inside of me. But these week, aside from my own brokenness, I was really looking at all that is broken around me. I feel the need to step back and look at it all and admit to myself and to God ‘this is broken’, help me to fix it. Not always easy to do. Nonetheless, I truly find hope and peace knowing that He wants me to come to him with all of ‘this’.

  3. Love your thoughts today. I feel the brokenness around us. Too. It is good to remember what He can and will do for us.

Leave a Reply

