2C16:9 Kind Of Living


llfc-logo12

If you’re new to the blog and want to find out more about the {Live Life Fully Committed Challenge}

 click {here} or to get the Recap, go {here}.

* * *

 

The eyes of the Lord search the whole earth in order to strengthen those whose hearts are fully committed to him…

(2 Chronicles 16:9, NLT)

My eyes searched the text in hopes of a way out. None was found. There was no running away. There was no escape route. Any attempt of retreating was useless. I was confronted, and I knew it.

I spent the last two years learning to manage my home, overcome depression and anxiety, and move forward {In Pursuit} of God and His abundance for my life.  Although the process was not always easy and the road was strewn with difficult situations, I moved forward. There was visible and tangible progress.

The 2013 {Live Life Fully Committed} Challenge is about that confrontation.

It’s about looking at my life, not just glancing at it, but really looking at it and being real with myself. And as I sit here eating an absolutely yummy, Oreo cookie, I have to ask myself- How bad do you want to live a Healthy Lifestyle?

Perhaps that’s the problem. We look at the outcome and ask questions like, ‘is it worth it?’ or ‘do I really want that?’, yet we fail to look at what matters.

It’s much easier to see this when it comes to an Oreo cookie and a Healthy Lifestyle.

SAM_2078

It’s much harder when we’re talking about a healthy marriage and a healthy relationship with our children. Is it really worth it? Do we really want healthy family relationships?

This week, when my husband came down to visit us at the hospital, it hit me. If he were gone tomorrow, then what? And if my children were gone tomorrow, then what?

Am I living my life with an outcome in mind? Is that my motivation? Is that what drives me? Because if it is, I may end up disappointed when things don’t turn out the way I imagined.

DSC_0692

Or am I living my life the 2 Chronicles 16:9 (2C16:9) way? Can I live today, with a heart fully committed to God, and can I operate in every area (including family life) out of that overflow?

If I can do this, I can continue to move forward, regardless of the opposition, regardless of the circumstances, regardless of the trials and testing.

If I can do this, I can serve God and others without selfish motives and selfish ambitions. I can love my family the way Christ loves them, unconditionally, and with grace, mercy, and compassion. I can pour out, not out of my reserves, which constantly fail me, but out of the overflow of my relationship with Him.

2C16:9 kind of living is what I’m after. How about you?

Today’s Challenge:

  • Are you operating out of your reserves?
  • Are you living your life out of the overflow of a relationship with Jesus?
  • If not, what can you do to continuously realign yourself with the heart of God?

 

Note: To be notified of responses to your comments, please make sure to checkmark “Notify me of follow-up comments via email”.


Want to be the first to know when a new post goes up?

Now you can save time and keep on top of everything

that’s new here on {In Pursuit}.

Simply subscribe via email on the top right-hand side-bar.

You can also join the conversation on our Facebook page.


Find out more about the

LLFC Logo


Posted on March 20, 2013, in 2013 {Live Life Fully Committed} Challenge, 3-5 YEAR OLDS, DEVOTIONALS, FAMILY LIFE, MOTHERING ON PURPOSE, Our Children, Our Marriages, PARENTING, SPIRITUAL GROWTH, TEENS and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

