Uh, What Was It You Said Again? {Go Back To The Instructions}


LLFC LogoWe’ve embarked on a journey and there’s no turning back. The 2013 {Live Life Fully Committed} Challenge has taken us out of our comfort zone and it’s called us to action. I don’t know about you, but I love it!

For those of you who are new to the blog and want to find out exactly what I’m talking about, click {here} for all the details, and to get your free Questionnaire…. oh, the Questionnaire, where it all begins…

Alright, so yesterday I left you with Noah, sitting in a smelly ark, just waiting. Yesterday I challenged you to Take Out The Instructions {& Build The Ark Anyway!}  How did that go?

I didn’t get to finish. I felt like I needed more time for this challenge. How about you?

I mean, there are things that I can rattle off the top of my head that I know, for sure, I’ve already been instructed to do. I bet you can manage to put together a quick list too.

Here’s the thing. God didn’t give Noah a quick checklist that read something like:

  1. Build an ark
  2. Get into it
  3. Water’s coming

Nope. That’s not quite the way it went. So if that’s what your list looks like, I suggest you take some time to go back.

God’s instructions to Noah were specific. There was a specific way to build the ark, specific dimensions, specific instructions for the vessel that would bring him and his family to safety. Deviate from the instructions and the outcome could prove disastrous.

Today’s Challenge:

Go back to yesterday’s challenge. Let’s not get sloppy with it. What are the instructions and then how will you take action?

Here’s an example:

God has been calling you to pay closer attention to your marriage. You want to be a helpmeet to your husband, but you’re not sure where to begin.

“Uh, Lord, what was it You said again?!”

My paper would look something like this:

  1. Marriage
    • Pray for my husband daily (wisdom, discernment, strength, passion, etc.).
    • Weekly encouragement (maybe phone calls, e-mail, notes, etc.) schedule it on calendar to hold myself accountable.
    • Seek ways and opportunities to show affection. Be intentional about hugs, kisses, holding hands, etc. {Touch is important}.
    • Get creative {date nights}. Sit with husband and go over calendar and potential date nights.
    • Pray with husband.

Again, that’s just an example. The point is to be detailed. Jot down the ideas and strategies God has already given you for the task at hand.

Back to our scenario above:

Wife is exhausted and the last thing on her mind is her husband. She just doesn’t have the strength in her to even get out a smile.

Prayer

Lord, I’m exhausted. I know you’re calling me to love on my husband. I know you’re calling me to be the helpmeet that he needs. I know what I have to do, but I just don’t have it in me.

Lord, give me the strength and grace that I need that when my husband enters through those doors, I would be able to give him my best, rather than my left-overs.

Faith

Once that prayer has come out of your mouth, you must walk in faith. You must believe that God will give you the strength and the grace that you prayed for.

And whatever things you ask in prayer, believing, you will receive.

Matthew 21:22

Action

So husband comes through the door after a long and tiring day of work. I can choose to present him with a tired out, washed out, exhausted, and miserable woman…

Or I can open up that door {and in the strength and grace of the Lord} I can give a smile, wrap my arms around him with a tight hug, and surprise him with a kiss. I can step back, still holding onto him, and I can tell him how good it is to have him home.

Action sometimes takes less time than you think.

Every single day when my husband comes home from a long day of work, in less than two minutes I can, intentionally and purposefully, sow a seed into our marriage.

This little seed will demonstrate that he is loved, that he is important, that he has a wife who is thinking about him, that he is valued, and that in my book, ‘he’s still got it!’.

Now that is two minutes well spent!

Your Commitment Is to God

In this scenario, you’re not showing up just because you want a good marriage. You’re showing up because you have a heart that is fully committed to God. Our marriage is a reflection of Christ and His bride, the Church. Because we live with hearts fully committed to God, we desire to uphold this sacred covenant of marriage.

And so, we serve God… in spending a few minutes praying for our husbands, in taking 5 minutes to love and encourage him via a note, in taking 2 minutes to open up the door and greet him with love and affection.

We sow seeds, not because our husbands deserve it. Not because we always want to. Not because it’s the thing on our to-do list.

We sow seeds because our hearts are fully committed to God. And because it’s important to Him, then it’s important to us. How awesome to know that He strengthens us for the task at hand!

So there you have it. A very thorough, and quick, example of how we go back to the initial instructions.

Are you ready to go deeper?

Are you ready to get specific?

If so, then you are well on your way to a 2013 filled with an amazing overflow of God’s strength and grace. I don’t know about you, but I am so loving this new adventure!

Meet me here tomorrow? I’m so looking forward to it!

(Note: When you leave a comment, make sure to check-mark “Notify me of follow-up comments via email” This way you don’t miss out on any responses to your comments here on {In Pursuit}.)


Find out more about the

LLFC Logo

Want A Recap:

Are You Serious?! (2013 {Live Life Fully Committed} Challenge)

A Tool For Our Journey

Get A Life {A Prayer Life!}

Remain Still {Especially When You Want To Get Going}

Take Out The Instructions {& Build The Ark Anyway!}


Want to be the first to know when a new post goes up?

Now you can save time and keep on top of everything

that’s new here on {In Pursuit}.

Simply subscribe via email on the top right-hand side-bar.

You can also join the conversation on our Facebook page.

Posted on February 6, 2013, in 2013 {Live Life Fully Committed} Challenge, FAMILY LIFE, LIFE, MARRIAGE, Our Christian Walk, SPIRITUAL GROWTH and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Is my husband talking to you? Cause you are hitting me upside my head! Lol

  2. Thank you for tools that can help us live a life fully committed to God!

  3. Listen here MRS. HAPPY !!! This challenge has ROCKED MY WORLD UPSIDE DOWN! This challenge has me on my knees begging for it to STOP cause I can’t take it anymore..SWEET JESUS!! What the heck are you so happy about? LOL!

    Love you lots and thank you for the PAIN, CONFRONTATION, AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!

  1. Pingback: Our Christian Walk {The Recap} |

Leave a Reply

