Take Out The Instructions {& Build The Ark Anyway!}


LLFC Logo“Don’t tell me to trust God! I already know that!”

My fiancé (now my husband) was a fairly new believer at the time, yet He had this ‘I believe God’ attitude that annoyed me. I grew up in church. I heard all the stories and I knew the favorite Bible verses. I didn’t need him to tell me something I already knew.

I was so irritated with his matter-of-fact-take-God-for-His-word kind of faith. Especially since I knew God was able. My problem was far greater than unbelief.

See, I believed God could come through. I just wasn’t so sure I could count on Him to come through for me.

Ever felt that way?

Insecurities have a way of creeping up when the going gets tough. When things get tight and life begins to squeeze you, that’s when all the gook comes seeping through the cracks of our broken souls.

When the enemy whispers the same lies he whispered in the garden…

When a sickness begins to consume our loved ones…

When we lose jobs, lose homes, lose it all…

When loved ones die…

When marriages begin to crumble…

When children rebel…

When you’re not so sure if you’re going to make it…

Build The Ark Anyway

God’s eyes searched his creation and saw man’s great wickedness. The earth had become corrupt and was full of violence and God was going to put an end to it. He was “grieved that he had made man on the earth, and His heart was filled with pain,” (Genesis 6:6).

Genesis 6-9 tells us the story of a man named Noah. In the middle of a perverse and wicked generation, Noah found favor with God (Genesis 6:8 ). The Bible goes on to describe Noah as “a righteous man, blameless among the people of his time, and he walked with God.”

How awesome is that? Evil seemed to reign, yet there was one man who did not contaminate himself with the corruption all around him. There was one man whose heart was fully committed to God

God gave Noah specific instructions to build an ark. And then he said:

I’m going to bring floodwaters on the earth to destroy all life under the heavens, every creature that has the breath of life in it. Everything on earth will perish. But I will establish my covenant with you, and you will enter the ark- you and your sons and your wife and your sons’ wives with you,

(Genesis 6:17-18)

 

God instructed Noah to build something he had never seen before. God gave Noah a blueprint to build a vessel which was going to save him and his family from the destruction to come.

This is the part where my fiancé would say, “Trust God” and I would yell back at him, “Don’t tell me to trust God! I already know that!”

Noah had to trust God. Noah had to believe that the God who made the covenant would fulfill His promise. Hebrews 11:7 says, “ By faith Noah, when warned about things not yet seen, in holy fear built an ark to save his family.”

It may not make sense, but have faith. Build the ark anyway!

Believe Anyway

We read through this story and we jump to the animals coming two-by-two. We jump to the ark on the waters and all of a sudden there’s dry land and oh yeah, the beautiful rainbow appears.

But what about the process?

What about the years of building without one drop of rain falling?

What about the constant mocking and talking from those who thought Noah was crazy?

What about the blueprint for an ark with absolutely no helm, or steering wheel?

“Don’t tell me to trust God. I know that!  I just need to know how this thing is going to be steered without a steering wheel and a rudder!!!”

What about waking up day after day, for 40 days, with constant rain hitting your vessel?

And then the rain stops. But Noah, he’s still floating there on water.

Stop jumping ahead to the rainbow. We’re not there yet.

What about sitting there on water for over 150 days before Mt. Ararat even came into sight?

Noah sat in an ark surrounded by a family that was counting on him. He sat in an ark surrounded by the stench of animals and manure.

And here with an entire world flooded, with absolutely no land in sight…Noah had to hold on to the promise of God. Noah had to dig deep. He had to remember that the God who said it would rain, brought the rain. And so, that same God would carry out His plan to it’s entirety.

Today’s Challenge

You’ve been getting a prayer life, haven’t you? And you’ve been practicing remaining in His Presence, right?

It’s time to take out the instructions.

God has already given you instructions. Somewhere along the line, you received a blueprint. Whether you threw it out because it didn’t make sense, or whether you put it away because it didn’t have much importance… it’s time to go back to the initial instructions.

We keep asking God, ‘what next?’

But God already gave instructions and we have yet to implement them.

I know they don’t make sense. I know you want to know what’s in the details. I know it’s hard for you to move on something you’ve never seen before. I know it’s hard to believe because you’re afraid of being disappointed.

My friend, build the ark anyway! Believe anyway.

Today’s Challenge: In your prayer time, ask God to remind you of the instructions He’s already given you. Write them down. How will you put them into action this year?

Then join me here tomorrow as we move forward with our 2013 {Live Life Fully Committed} Challenge. The rainbow will come, but first we must go through the process.

(Note: When you leave a comment, make sure to check-mark “Notify me of follow-up comments via email” This way you don’t miss out on any responses to your comments here on {In Pursuit}.)


Find out more about the

LLFC Logo


Want to be the first to know when a new post goes up?

Now you can save time and keep on top of everything

that’s new here on {In Pursuit}.

Simply subscribe via email on the top right-hand side-bar.

You can also join the conversation on our Facebook page.

Posted on February 5, 2013, in 2013 {Live Life Fully Committed} Challenge, DEVOTIONALS, LIFE, LIFE LESSONS, Our Christian Walk, PRAYER, SPIRITUAL GROWTH and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. I am always lifted up when I take the time to read one of your posts. Thank you so much!!! This message is so true and I will begin my day with this prayer. Thank you!

    • Brooke, I was so blessed by your comment. Thank you for sharing. My prayer is that {In Pursuit} would serve as a place where we can encourage each other on this most amazing journey. Thanks for being a part of that!

  2. The process!!! Wow! I never saw it that way… that was a process that could have made anyone questioned/doubt God. Thank you Darlene for letting the Holy Spirit lead you through this journey.

  3. wow i was reading about this (the ark,noah and trustung )last night with my hubby 🙂

  4. i love this! and your words of inspiration are going to the prison!

  1. Pingback: Our Christian Walk {The Recap} |

  2. Pingback: Practice, Practice, Practice {& Get Rid Of The Quit Option} «

  3. Pingback: Get Yourself A Plan «

  4. Pingback: Your Lucky Day {It’s A Recap} «

  5. Pingback: Uh, What Was It You Said Again {Go Back To The Instructions} «

  6. Pingback: Remain Still {Especially When You Want To Get Going} «

Leave a Reply

