{The Resolution for Women} Loving My Children, Part 11 (book study)


resolution-for-women-button(If you’re new to the blog, welcome!

To find out more about our book study and to read previous posts, click {here}.)

* * * * *

This week’s topic was {Loving My Children: A Resolution To Train My Children In Righteousness}.

Parenting is not for the weak. It’s not for the lazy. And it certainly is not for the ‘sensitive’.

Children have a way of pushing us to our limits. They have a tendency to pull from us all that we have to give. And as if that were not enough, they have a way of reaching deep within our hearts in ways others never could. God has a funny way of doing things.

Motherhood: The High Calling

In a society where children are looked at as inconveniences, it’s important we remember the high call upon our lives: Motherhood.

Don’t be deceived. The world around you will tell you that you have no power or influence. The world will tell you that ‘this is just the way kids are’ and that ‘they grow out of it’. The world will tell you that they get in the way, and that you’re wasting your youth with this whole parenting thing.

But God says something totally different. Children are a blessing!

Behold, children are a heritage from the Lord,
The fruit of the womb is a reward.
4Like arrows in the hand of a warrior,
So are the children of one’s youth.
 Happy is the man who has his quiver full of them;
They shall not be ashamed,
But shall speak with their enemies in the gate.

Psalm 127:3-5

Some of the roles Priscilla Shirer talks about in this chapter, include:

The Soul Shaper

This chapter reminds us of our call to be soul shapers. The children given to us are souls who need to find a relationship with Jesus Christ for themselves. As soul shapers we do not sit idly. Instead, we watch and we pray. We fight for our children. And with the help of the Holy Spirit, we lead and instruct our little ones in the ways of the Lord.

Mom, this is it. You were created for this. Your investment today in the lives of those children will yield a great return for God’s Kingdom. Do not waver and do not give up. Your diligent, faithful, and loving service in the lives of your children is working to help shape their souls.

The Intentional Encourager

As mothers who resolve to love their children, we must be intentional encouragers. It can be so easy to point out all the negatives in them, isn’t it? Especially when those negatives tire and frustrate us.

However, intentional encouragement is necessary if we are to train our children in righteousness.

Do not get discouraged when you look at them and see nothing but the opposite of what you hope for. Do not lose heart when they act immature and irresponsible. I know it’s not easy, but focus is key.

Don’t lose sight of the purpose of God upon their lives. Don’t lose sight of the plan God has prepared for them. Your intentional encouragement shines light and hope upon them, causing them to see what the world tries so desperately to withhold from them; They are children of God, created with purpose and for a purpose!

The Discipline Dealer

That’s right. You are the Discipline Dealer. Children won’t learn to live a righteous life, just because. It will take consistent effort on your part. As a matter of fact, this is your day job and your night job. You don’t rest when it comes to disciplining your children in the ways of the Lord.

Why? Because you will reap tomorrow the work you put in today.

Even more than that, your children will reap tomorrow the rewards of the work you put in today.

Their future depends on the decisions you make today. I know, Mom, this can sometimes be such an inconvenience. Especially when you’re so busy…

But again, let me remind you. This thing called Motherhood is a high calling. It requires you, and me, getting out of our comfort zone and handling the tough stuff.

You can do this. You were created for this!

Mothering On Purpose

This week’s chapter was a call to Mothering On Purpose. That’s something we do here on {In Pursuit} quite often. Read all about it {here}.

(Note: When you leave a comment, make sure to checkmark “Notify me of follow-up comments via email” This way you don’t miss out on any responses to your comments here on {In Pursuit}.)

This is just a little taste of our week 11 discussion. If you want to keep the conversation going, simply leave a comment below or email me to be added to our {Revolutionary Women} The Resolution, Facebook group.

Discussion time is open for half hour real-time on Saturday mornings at 8 am.

Something came up? You couldn’t make it? Not to worry. We are here to serve you. We want this to be as stress-free and convenient for your own season in life. Simply sign up by email (on the right-hand sidebar) to receive all updated posts directly to your email. Then come back to the Facebook page, at your convenience to join the conversation. (Don’t forget to email me or post a comment letting me know that we can add you).

 


Want to be the first to know when a new post goes up?

Now you can save time and keep on top of everything

that’s new here on {In Pursuit}.

Simply subscribe via email on the top right-hand side-bar.

Join the conversation on our Facebook page.

Posted on February 2, 2013, in BOOK CLUB, DAILY LIFE, LIFE, LIFE LESSONS, MOTHERING ON PURPOSE, PARENTING, THE RESOLUTION REVOLUTION and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I was so guilty of this, I’ve learned a lot but still have much more to learn… I used to feel that my children were such a burden, for everything I used them as an excuse! When your marriage is in trouble and you are stressed out, you have so many hats to wear, you feel as if you have just lost yourself, at times you don’t even remember who you were, there is this drowning feeling, you just want to run and hear silence… That is how I can best describe it. It almost doesn’t make sense but to who has been there,I think it would make great sense.
    When I came back to Christ and decided this was it for me, I couldn’t do it on my own, it was a decision out of desperation, I felt physically, emotional and mentally drained. I needed help immediately. I couldn’t take not one more day of feeling the way I did because it was going to push me to do something I would regret. Im not sure why I am sharing all this but I remember feeling that I didn’t want to live anymore but it came the day to dedicate my youngest son to the Lord because thats the way I grew up (At this point I was not serving the Lord). I remember feeling very sentimental that day, this was my opportunity to make a decision to either start fresh or keep doing what I was doing. When we were called to the pulpit for the dedication, the Pastor spoke to the parents but she does it separately… she refers to the father’s and mother’s and witnesses all separately. When she spoke to the mothers, I couldn’t stop crying, I was thinking to myself… what am I doing to my kids? Im not a good influence? Im not guiding or instructing my children in a Godly way when I knew it was that seed that was placed in me since birth and it was the only thing that kept me alive and out of prison. It wasn’t fair to them because I was so caught up in my messy life. But God was there, waiting patiently for me to make a decision, to let him fight my battles, to let him lead the way… in May it will be 2 years that I made the decision to serve Christ and let him teach me how to lead my children, I will tell you that I have seen a difference in my life, in my marriage and in my children. Now my children wait for me to put them to bed so we can pray and that includes my 2yr old. By no means I am saying that my life is all peaches and cream, children are very clever and persistent and it can be draining but if you need to, lock yourself in the bathroom and take some deep breaths and ask the Lord to renew your strength and declare peace that surpasses all understanding over your life, and you will see what a difference it makes. Sometimes you might have to repeat it a few times (at least for me lol).
    We can make a difference in the midst of this crazy world, but it needs to start at home, our family is our first ministry!

    • Isn’t it amazing how God used such a beautiful ceremony to call you to action. I love that about Him.
      And how awesome that these changes are occurring while your children are still young. God is restoring all that the enemy wanted to devour. And your children we be left with beautiful memories of how their mother taught them about Jesus…
      Yes indeed! God is a good God!

  1. Pingback: {The Resolution for Women} Fulfilling My Husband, Part 10 (book study) «

Leave a Reply

