Are You Serious?! (2013 {Live Life Fully Committed} Challenge)


LLFC Logo

 

I am so happy you’re back. Especially if you read through yesterday’s questionnaire!

The reaction to this challenge has been quite interesting. After reading through the questionnaire, some are shocked at how complacent they’ve lived their lives. Others have looked at the email and written back, “I don’t have words right now.”

One individual, when proposed with the challenge over the phone, didn’t speak to me for at least two days. And others, who hadn’t yet opened the questionnaire, delightfully said, ‘yes, we want to be a part of the challenge.’

One of the best reactions I received was from my husband, who looked at the questionnaire, then re-read it. His face was priceless. It was a mixture between discouragement and ‘Are you serious?!!

Until I said…

This Challenge Is Impossible

He was a bit puzzled by my response. So I went on, “See, this challenge has nothing to do with the questionnaire. People will read that questionnaire and be discouraged and overwhelmed. That questionnaire is simply a way of looking at ourselves and understanding how complacent we’ve lived our lives.”

My friend, I share with you today what I shared with my husband last night.

The 2013 {Live Life Fully Committed} Challenge is not about looking at the questionnaire and being that super person. We are not striving to be Fully Committed to every question on that paper. Why? Because we will fail. Because we don’t have the strength in and of ourselves to do it.

Think about it. Jesus loves us. He saved us. He is here for us. He provides for our needs. He is good over our lives. He is faithful. And the list goes on. Yet we fail Him. We continuously sin and fall short of His glory (Romans 3:23). Until the day we are face-to-face with Him, we will never be perfect.

That’s why this challenge is less about being committed to stuff, things, ideas, and resolutions, and more about having a heart that is fully committed to Him.

So again, let me reiterate. The questionnaire is simply for you to sit with God and get real.

Let’s Go Back…

Let’s go back to 2 Chronicles 16:9.

 For the eyes of the Lord range throughout the earth to strengthen those whose hearts are fully committed to him.

Go back and read through the Chapter and check out the context of this scripture. There was a time when King Asa depended on God and God showed up. However, another time came when King Asa put his dependence on man.

At that time Hanani the seer came to Asa king of Judah and said to him: “Because you relied on the king of Aram and not on the Lord your God, the army of the king of Aram has escaped from your hand.  Were not the Cushites and Libyans a mighty army with great numbers of chariots and horsemen? Yet when you relied on the Lord, he delivered them into your hand.  For the eyes of the Lord range throughout the earth to strengthen those whose hearts are fully committed to him. You have done a foolish thing, and from now on you will be at war.

2 Chronicles 16:7-9

The Actual Challenge?

This challenge is about living life with a heart fully committed to God. Our focus becomes Him. Our desire and our dependence is in Him. Our confidence is shifted off of what we are unable to accomplish and it’s put in Him. He is made strong in our weaknesses.

9 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness. Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 10 That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

2 Corinthians 12: 9-11

See, putting your affections on Him takes all the focus off the questions on that questionnaire, and it puts the focus on the God who is able to do the impossible. It takes the focus off of our limitations and it puts it on the God who is able! Is becomes less of what we will do and more of ‘What does God want?’

So you looked at the Spiritual Growth section and thought, ‘wow, forget about it. I’ve got so much to change, it’s not even worth it. I don’t even know where to start.’

Start by having a heart fully committed to God.

God, I want to live with a heart fully committed to you. I want to grow and learn. I want to spend time in prayer and in the word. I want to grow in my relationship with you. Forgive me for neglecting this area in my life. Show me how to prioritize this time with You.

Once you’re heart is fully committed to Him and seeking Him, He promises to strengthen you. He will give you the grace and strength to find success in this area of your life.

Then listen as the Holy Spirit gives you a strategy. For me, it began with my {Morning Dates With God}. For you it might look differently. But either way, God will show you how to manage this most important part of your life, Spiritual Growth.

Grab a pen and paper and write down all the ideas you get throughout the day. Even if they seem silly. Then one day at a time, implement that strategy. Why? Because your heart is fully committed to a relationship with God.

See, it’s not so much about,  ‘am I fully committed to prayer time and reading the scriptures?’

It more about, Is my heart fully committed to God? So much so that I long to be in fellowship with him? Because it is, then I want to read the word. I want to get to know him. I want to be in prayer and communion with Him.’

All of a sudden you have purpose in what you’re doing, and not just a list of things you’re attempting to be fully committed to.

Relieved A Bit?

I know my husband was. He smiled after I shared all this with him and said, “wow, you just lifted a burden.” And I laughed.

It’s so much easier to put your focus and affection on God rather than on a bunch of to-do’s. God will direct you in each area of your life throughout each differing day, week, and season. Remain steadfast with a heart fully committed to Him.

So Are you Ready Now?

If you’re ready to live this way, then join me on this Challenge.

Together we will work God’s word. We will cash in the promises of God and we will walk in expectancy of God’s strength for every area of our lives. We will break it down step-by-step beginning in February. And we will move forward.

In December of 2013, we will look back and we will see if this really works. Does living life with a heart fully committed to God really change anything? Join me on this most amazing journey, and together, we’ll find out!


Want to be the first to know when a new post goes up?

Now you can save time and keep on top of everything

that’s new here on {In Pursuit}.

Simply subscribe via email on the top right-hand side-bar.

You can also join the conversation on our Facebook page.


Posted on January 30, 2013, in 2013 {Live Life Fully Committed} Challenge, FAMILY LIFE, FINANCES, HEALTHY LIFESTYLE, HOME & ORGANIZATION, LIFE, MARRIAGE, Our Christian Walk, PARENTING, SPIRITUAL GROWTH and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. My life depens on it, I don’t know what to expect but I’m sure it will be an unforgettable journey! Im ready for some growth, its time to take it to another level! No pain no gain! Gottagetoutofmycomfortzone!

  1. Pingback: Our Christian Walk {The Recap} |

  2. Pingback: Your Lucky Day {It’s A Recap} «

  3. Pingback: Uh, What Was It You Said Again {Go Back To The Instructions} «

  4. Pingback: 2013 {Live Life Fully Committed} Challenge (& Free Questionnaire) «

Leave a Reply

