{And Now, He Is Ready To Grant Your Requests}


 

The people of Israel were such a rebellious and disobedient people. Even still, God sent prophets to bring forth a message of warning and repentance. God was speaking, yet His people, never acted on their responsibility to heed the message in obedience. Instead, they continued to be led by their ‘wants’.

‘Wants’ Change

See, the problem with ‘wants’ is that they change depending on your circumstances. Today, I might ‘want’ something which tomorrow may prove to be utterly useless. Times, situations, seasons, they all change our ‘wants’.

For years, I wanted holidays to be and feel a certain way. But then you’re awaken to the needs going on around you and all of a sudden those ‘wants’ become shallow and insignificant. All of a sudden I desire {A Different Kind of Christmas} and suddenly my ‘wants’ don’t seem so important. Instead, it’s replaced with a desire to have a heart that beats at one with Him. 

I am reminded to {Remain In The Vine} where the Gardener continues to prune me that I may produce much lasting fruit.

God Remains The Same, Holy

God is holy. And He is calling His people to holiness. He is calling us to move outside of the ‘wants’ and move into the realm of obedience. ‘Wants’ can sway you.  They promise fulfillment which they cannot produce–  leaving us to fend for ourselves in discontentment, and causing us to lose sight of the blessings and favor of God today.

When we are led by our own wants, we are susceptible to the lies of the enemy. We are drawn to the things of the flesh and begin to set up altars to worship those gods we think will meet our needs in that given moment. How foolish! How could a god we ourselves created, one which cannot speak or see, ever meet our needs?

God’s calling His people to alignment; Because how we live our lives will either honor Him or dishonor Him.

We have a responsibility. God remains the same, Holy.

We’d benefit greatly learning from the story of God’s people…

21 Then I was concerned for my holy name, which had been dishonored by my people throughout the world. 22 “Therefore, give the people of Israel this message from the Sovereign LORD: I am bringing you back again but not because you deserve it. I am doing it to protect my holy name, which you dishonored while you were scattered among the nations. 23 I will show how holy my great name is — the name you dishonored among the nations. And when I reveal my holiness through you before their very eyes, says the Sovereign LORD, then the nations will know that I am the LORD.

Ezekiel 36: 21-23

God’s Message Of Hope 

Don’t you just love the way God sheds the Light of Hope into our lives? Don’t you just love that He doesn’t leave us there standing in our sin, helpless and suffocating in guilt and shame?

 

24 For I will gather you up from all the nations and bring you home again to your land. 25 “Then I will sprinkle clean water on you, and you will be clean. Your filth will be washed away, and you will no longer worship idols.

Ezekiel 36: 24-25

Because He Is Able

And when you don’t have the answers, and you’re not even sure where to start, He promises to do the real work. When we walk in obedience, rather than being led by our ‘wants’, He does the work. Because this God is able. This God can do the transforming work required. This God, the One true God, can do what you, and all your ‘wants’, could never do.

26 And I will give you a new heart with new and right desires, and I will put a new spirit in you. I will take out your stony heart of sin and give you a new, obedient heart. 27 And I will put my Spirit in you so you will obey my laws and do whatever I command.

Ezekiel 36: 26-27

Because He Will Do

28 And you will live in Israel, the land I gave your ancestors long ago. You will be my people, and I will be your God. 29 I will cleanse you of your filthy behavior. I will give you good crops, and I will abolish famine in the land. 30 I will give you great harvests from your fruit trees and fields, and never again will the surrounding nations be able to scoff at your land for its famines. 31 Then you will remember your past sins and hate yourselves for all the evil things you did.

32 But remember, says the Sovereign LORD, I am not doing this because you deserve it. O my people of Israel, you should be utterly ashamed of all you have done! 33 “This is what the Sovereign LORD says: When I cleanse you from your sins, I will bring people to live in your cities, and the ruins will be rebuilt. 34 The fields that used to lie empty and desolate — a shock to all who passed by — will again be farmed.

35 And when I bring you back, people will say, ‘This godforsaken land is now like Eden’s garden! The ruined cities now have strong walls, and they are filled with people!’ 36 Then the nations all around — all those still left — will know that I, the LORD, rebuilt the ruins and planted lush crops in the wilderness. For I, the LORD, have promised this, and I will do it.

Ezekiel 36: 28-35

 

And Now, He Is Ready To Grant Your Requests

Oh, get this. God stepped in for His name sake. He promised to do the work the people were unable to do. He would change their hearts. He would fill them with the Spirit so that they would obey. And then, and then He would be ready to hear their prayers. Then He’d be ready to grant their requests.

37 This is what the Sovereign LORD says: I am ready to hear Israel’s prayers for these blessings, and I am ready to grant them their requests. 38 I will multiply them like the sacred flocks that fill Jerusalem’s streets at the time of her festivals. The ruined cities will be crowded with people once more, and everyone will know that I am the LORD.

Ezekiel 36: 37-38

Okay, I don’t know about you, but this gets me excited. See, Ezekiel was giving a message to a rebellious and disobedient people. God’s love, mercy, grace, and goodness abound so-much-so that He would make a way for them to experience His blessing.

And God did the same for us. He sent His son Jesus to die for our sins. If we believe and if we confess that He is Lord, we are promised eternal life! We are part of God’s family and the inheritance is ours!

We didn’t deserve it. We were yet sinners. Yet He made the way. He filled us with His Holy Spirit, empowering us to walk in holiness and obedience.

And it’s as though I can hear the voice of the One who pursues us…

I have blessings for you. Blessings I want to bestow upon you. But you’ve gone astray. You’ve followed your own sinful wants, you’ve gotten distracted,  and in doing so you’ve dishonored my name. But I am bringing you back. I am gathering all the fragments. For My namesake I am ready to hear your prayers for these blessings I already promised. And my child, I am ready to grant you your request.

Not because we’re better than. Not because we deserve it. But because then everyone will know that He is LORD! Then everyone will know that He is able to do what we could not do on our own.

Woooo!!! My friend. I am excited about what God is doing. I am excited that we have been aligned and positioned for this new season of favor and blessings. I am excited that He’d choose me, to bless me so that in my blessing, His name would  be glorified!

How about you?

As we end 2012 and get ready for a new year, I challenge you to bring your prayers to the Lord in faith, believing that you are now ready and in position to have your requests granted!


Subscribe by email


Posted on December 19, 2012, in DEVOTIONALS, LIFE, LIFE LESSONS, SPIRITUAL GROWTH and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

