{Making One Small Dent…}


It’s amazing the way God works. When we really want to do things His way, He makes a way.

The truth is that I am only one. I sometimes feel so tiny against the great big evil that’s out there. How can I make a difference? How do I make even a dent on all the injustice and suffering out there?

Articles such as {We’re Women In A Long Line Of Women} show me that when one is willing, God makes a way. See, I had just finished sharing my heart here on {In Pursuit}. I had just finished sharing my hearts prayer, {Break My Heart For What Breaks Yours!}. My heart is moved with compassion for those in impoverished nations and for young girls and boys who are being sold into the s*x traffic industry. But how can I make a difference? 

Yesterday, I finally opened my mouth here on this blog and with that comes a responsibility to act. With that comes a responsibility to move as God leads. And so when I read the post,  {We’re Women In A Long Line Of Women} where 14-year-old Hope, along with her mother, Ann Voskamp, celebrated by making a dent, I knew that if a 14-year-old girl could cause such a stir, then I have no excuse.

They partnered with Freeset, a fair trade business in Kolkata which provides a dignified way for women in s*x trade to bring home an income. Hope and Ann made 1000 bags available at $10 a piece. Each bag purchased served to free one woman from this industry. Imagine that. $10 could impact and ultimately transform a woman’s life.

And so, with much gratitude to God for making a way for me (in my current situation) to get involved, I made my purchase. Within 4.5 hours, those bags sold old. Glory be to God!

I don’t know how this will look in years to come. But I do know one thing, yesterday I made a decision to get off the sidelines when it comes to some of the injustice going on in this world. Immediately, I became empowered. I realized that this is the heart of God and if I am willing, and if I am in position, He will put into my hands the resources necessary to move.

Looking forward to partnering with God!

WHERE DO I START?

Don’t know where to start? Educate yourself. See some of the resources below.

 

THEN CHOOSE TO ACT

Although it won’t look the same for all of us, each of us can make a difference.

Won’t you join us in prayer. Won’t you ask God to lead you. And when He does, choose to act.

Speak up for those who cannot speak for themselves,
    for the rights of all who are destitute.

Speak up and judge fairly;
    defend the rights of the poor and needy.

Proverbs 31:8-9

But if anyone has the world’s goods and sees his brother in need,

yet closes his heart against him, 

how does God’s love abide in him?  Little children,

let us not love in word or talk but in deed and in truth.

1 John 3:17-18

Posted on December 12, 2012, in DEVOTIONALS, LIFE, LIFE LESSONS, SPIRITUAL GROWTH and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

