A Different Kind Of Christmas


I’m still sick and my daughter is already up, which means that I have about two minutes to share.

I don’t have the words or the time to share what has gone on inside this heart of mine. However, this much I can share… I’ve felt the sense that there is more to this time of the year.

The thought of stress and pressure coming from others expectations of how things ‘should be’ doesn’t sit well with me. I’m not comfortable with it all. And I don’t know how to pretend when it comes to things like this. It gets awkward. I get awkward. So much so that I feel like an alien sometimes. Like, am I the only one that feels this way? 

And yet, I am not the only one.

Ann Voskamp writes it so beautifully in her post, {The Grateful Christmas Project}. I read it (and you should read it too) and I thought ‘yes, yes, yes… that’s the kind of Christmas I want to experience. That’s the kind of Christmas I want to give to Jesus…’

Then last night I stayed home sick and my husband came home from Wednesday night Bible study and shared, “Pastor was talking about the same thing you shared with me yesterday…

Yes. I’m not the only one.

And so, we are having a {Different Kind of Christmas}. It’s the kind that my restless soul has yearned for every single year. It’s the kind where we come to Jesus and gift Him out of the abundance of what He’s already blessed us with!

How about you? How will you be celebrating Christ this year?

Posted on December 6, 2012, in HOLIDAYS and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. You are not alone. It does get awkward during Christmas. The library is about to close where I’m reading, so I’ll plan to listen to how to have a different kind of Christmas:)

    • Hi Brook. It’s good to know I’m not the only one. However, I am determined to have a right perspective when it comes to Christmas and holidays. So yes, definitely will share along the way. 🙂

  1. Pingback: {A Revolution of Generosity… Our Gift To Jesus!} « In Pursuit

  2. Pingback: {Break My Heart For What Breaks Yours!} « In Pursuit

Leave a Reply

