{5 Days To Save Money With Coupons} Get Set Up And Get Organized -Day 3


We’re on Day 3 of our {5 Days To Save Money With Coupons} series. Join me (and mostly Stephanie!) this week as we learn more about this money-saving phenomenon. If you’re new to this blog and you want to go back to the beginning of the series, click {here}.

So what can we look forward to?

Day 1: Benefits of Couponing

Day 2: Where Do I Start?

Day 3: Get Set Up & Get Organized

Day 4: Do The Research & Plan Ahead

Day 5: Let’s Go Shopping!

* * * * *

Yesterday, Stephanie gave us some great tips on finding coupons. If you missed it, make sure to go back for some awesome resources.

This next part, Organization, is one of my favorites. I love the way one can take a mess and manage that mess in such a way it becomes functional.

Today Stephanie (our guest contributor) is ready to show you just how to get your coupon clutter in order. So stick around for a few minutes. Perhaps, this might be the day you say ‘yes‘ to saving money with coupons!

 

MEET STEPHANIE:

Hi! I’m Stephanie! I am a wife, stay at home mom of two young children (ages 4 & 1) and I have a passion for couponing. I turned to couponing about 1 year and 8 months ago to help my husband of 6 years with finances, and I have never looked back since. Couponing has become a way of life and I will speak to just about anyone on the joys of couponing.

Now, that you have all those coupons,  your probably wondering how do I get organized?

There are a few different ways to organize and store your coupons. Setting up a system that works best for you is very important when it comes to saving money.

ORGANIZE YOUR COUPONS

Some options for organizing coupons include:

  • Envelopes
  • Expanding file or wallet
  • Index file box with tabbed dividers
  • A 3 ring binder

SORT YOUR COUPONS

Sorting your coupons is another important factor to help keep them organized and easy to find when needed.

  • By Expiry date
  • Alphabetically
  • By product category

It is really a matter of personal preference.

HERE’S HOW I DO IT

Since I am a strong couponer, I prefer the Binder method. I’ve tried other methods like the expanding wallet but after a few weeks my coupons outgrew the wallet.  A zippered binder with inside pockets is great for organizing and storing just about everything and anything I need for my weekly shopping trips.

I also prefer clipping all my coupons instead of keeping them whole (uncut). That method might work for others, but I find that by going through the motion of clipping and organizing my coupons, it helps me remember what coupons I have. (Especially since I never leave home without my binder.) I have the added benefit of snagging an unadvertised deal or an awesome clearance.

YOU’LL NEED: 

Binder of your choice

Plastic baseball card protectors

Binder Dividers or print your own and mark with your favorite sorting method.

Your end-result should look like this.

 

There you have it folks. Stephanie makes it look so easy, eh? Here’s how I [Darlene] organized my coupons last year. I also tried the Binder Method. To see my set up, click {here}. But I need some serious help with finding the deals and matching up my coupons.

Lucky for me (and those of you interested in getting started), tomorrow Stephanie will show us how to {Research & Plan Ahead}. Join me for Day 4 of {Save Money With Coupons}!

[READ MORE….]

Day 4: Do The Research & Plan Ahead

 

 

___________________________________________________________________________

___________________________________________________________________________

Posted on November 21, 2012, in BUDGETING, COST CUTTING, COUPONING, FINANCES, FINANCIAL FREEDOM and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

Leave a Reply

