{5 Days To Save Money With Coupons} Where Do I Start? -Day 2


Today is Day 2 of our {5 Days To Save Money With Coupons} series.

Join me (and mostly Stephanie!) this week as we learn more about this money-saving phenomenon.

If you’re new to this blog and you want to go back to the beginning of the series, click {here}.

So what can we look forward to?

Day 1: Benefits of Couponing

Day 2: Where Do I Start?

Day 3: Get Set Up & Get Organized

Day 4: Do The Research & Plan Ahead

Day 5: Let’s Go Shopping!

* * * * *

Yesterday we talked about the many benefits of couponing. And let me just say, I was quite intrigued. Yet still, I share some of the apprehensions many of you do. This seems overwhelming. Where would I even begin? 

Well, Stephanie (our guest contributor) is ready to answer those questions for us today. So grab your cup of coffee or tea, and sit with us for a few minutes. Perhaps you’d find this is something you can do.

MEET STEPHANIE 

Hi! I’m Stephanie! I am a wife, stay at home mom of two young children (ages 4 & 1) and I have a passion for couponing. I turned to couponing about 1 year and 8 months ago to help my husband of 6 years with finances, and I have never looked back since. Couponing has become a way of life and I will speak to just about anyone on the joys of couponing.

ALRIGHT STEPHANIE, WHERE DO I START? 

You heard about the benefits yesterday. Ok, are you interested now? If you are, you might ask, ‘where do I begin?’

You begin by obtaining coupons.

After seeing the abundance of coupons I have, the main question I get asked is, ‘where do you get all those coupons?’.

There are so many different ways and places to obtain coupons. So to help you get started, I’ve listed as many places as possible.

Sunday Newspaper – In every Sunday paper (excluding holidays) you can find coupon inserts. The number of coupon inserts varies every week. You will find coupon inserts like:

  • Smart source
  • Red plum
  • P&G Saver

Occasionally the paper will have other coupon inserts like General Mills, Campbell’s, and Kellogg’s/Keebler.

The size of your family will determine the number of Sunday papers you will need to buy. I would suggest buying two Sunday papers until you get the hang of it. (I make sure to buy an even number of papers because my favorite grocery store has the buy-one-get-one-free deals.) They allow me to use two coupons even if one of the items is free. Awesome, right?

I have a family of four so I buy about 4 to 6 newspapers every week. I also recommend you check Sundaycouponpreview.com to see what coupon-inserts are expected to come out, and what kind of coupons will be there.

I’ve learned that the hard way. I’ve gone to the store, bought my Sunday paper, and when I’ve looked through them at home had several coupon inserts missing. So, now I pick up the papers and peak through them to make sure I’m getting what I’ve paid for. You can also subscribe to your local newspaper as well. The convenience of having them delivered to your front door is great.

Coupon Inserts online –another way to obtain coupons can be through an online vendor. There are many website that offer whole (uncut) insert and some that offer already cut coupons. Although I purchase Sunday papers for my coupons, I sometimes refer to Sundaycouponinserts.com for whole inserts. Depending on your preference this might be more convenient.

Online printable coupons – the web is another main source for obtaining coupons. There are many places online that offer coupons for all those products you love. There are too many to mention, but I will name a few below:

Store ads – Your grocery store may have manufacturer’s coupons, store coupons, or even coupon fliers. I usually find them in my local newspaper and in the front part of my local grocery store. You can always call, or go to customer service and ask if they have any at the present time.

Blinkies – have you ever seen a little machine with a blinking red light that spits out coupons? If you have, they are called blinkies. My store has several of them throughout each aisle. I always grab them when I can because I never know when I will need them.

Peelies – manufacturers, many times, place coupons,which can be peeled off (and used), right on their products.

Coupons can be found just about anywhere, from packaged foods to your favorite magazines. If you seek you shall find.

ARE YOU READY?

Okay, Okay…. Now I [Darlene] have learned I can find coupons in many different places. I don’t know about you, but I’m ready to go and check out those websites Stephanie mentioned. If I can find coupons with a click of a button, I might just be able to handle this coupon phenomenon. How about you?

Still not so sure? Still feeling a bit overwhelmed?

Then join us tomorrow for {Day 3: Get Set Up & Get Organized}. Stephanie will show us exactly how she organizes all those coupons! 

[READ MORE….]

Day 3: Get Set Up & Get Organized

 

____________________________________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Posted on November 20, 2012, in BUDGETING, COST CUTTING, COUPONING, FINANCES, FINANCIAL FREEDOM and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

Leave a Reply

