Maintain Your Position {With Prayer} -Part 2


Yesterday we made a declaration. We are choosing to maintain our position in spite of opposition! 

But… choosing something is one thing. Living it out practically in our day-to-day is another thing entirely!

So what does it look like? Can we really go through the storms of life without being crushed by the violent waves?

Can we truly go through heartache and heartbreak without falling apart?

Can we go through the earth-giving-way-mountains-falling-into-the-sea experiences without losing our minds?

My answer to each of those questions is, YES!

How do I know? Because I am a living testimony that we can go through life’s difficult situations victoriously if we choose to go through them in Christ.

I don’t want to sound trite or simplistic, and I certainly do not want to minimize your suffering. Instead, I want to share with you the hope I found in Jesus. God didn’t give me a huge to-do list in order to find peace. He didn’t hide peace and joy from me; And He didn’t take me on a never-ending-hope-killing search for clarity.

Rather, He showed me that I am able to stand in spite of the opposition, and I can do it with total peace and confidence in Him.

Does that mean that I don’t feel anything? No.

I’m not made of stone. But that’s the secret of it all. Trusting God and going through the pain allows us to know Christ and the fellowship of His sufferings (Philippians 3:10). Opposition will arise, but if you stand firm in Christ, you will get through it having known Christ all the more.

So how do you maintain your composure? How do you maintain your position?

I’ve learned I need four disciplines. The first one is:

PRAYER

The number one discipline in the life of a believer is prayer. Without daily communion and fellowship with God in prayer, one is unable to navigate the challenges of life.

So practically speaking, maintaining your position in spite of opposition requires that you discipline yourself with a daily time of prayer. That’s why I love my {Morning Dates With God}. This time together in the mornings, before my children wake up, prepare me, strengthen me, refresh me, and lead me.

1 Thessalonians 5:17 tells us to “pray without ceasing“.

So the moment that your opposition begins to make some noise, turn to God.

The moment you open up the mail and get bad news, turn to God.

The moment your children begin to rise up in disobedience and rebellion, turn to God.

Death in the family. Marriage falling apart. Depression settling in. Frustration over the bills amounting. House fire. Broken down vehicle. Sickness in the family. Physical and mental exhaustion…

Whatever opposition… turn to God.

All day. Every hour. Every minute if need be. His grace is sufficient (2 Corinthians 12:9).

Will you always want to pray? Not really.

Will you always have the right words to say? Maybe not.

Will things change immediately? Not always.

Does God really care about my struggle? YES! YES! YES!

Without God, the troubles of life will consume you. But with God, you will be able to withstand, and you will be able to do so with His peace and with His joy.

So what do you say? You’ve tried it your way before. Ready to try things a different way? If so, go ahead and start praying about it. Then join me tomorrow for the second discipline necessary for maintaining your position in spite of opposition.

In 2012, you will reap the harvest of all that has been sown. God is for you!!

Standing in the gap with you-

Darlene

 

Read More: 

Maintain Your Position {With Thanksgiving} – Part 3

Maintain Your Position {With Praise!} -Part 4

__________________________________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Posted on November 6, 2012, in DEVOTIONALS, SPIRITUAL GROWTH and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a Reply

