{Changes, Changes. Be Intentional.} -Part 4


 The Ride Of Your Life, Uh- really?

You’ve come along with me for this most amazing ride. Similar to a roller coaster ride at a theme park, one can easily fill with fear. Not just any kind of fear, either. I’m talking about that kind of fear that makes things look irrational and totally out of our reach. Allow me a moment to remind you, things are not what they appear.

That roller coaster does not reach the clouds. Those zigzags and twirls will not last a lifetime. And even though you’ll want to secure yourself in your seat and keep your hands and feet inside at all times, the ride will be over (usually within 2 minutes).

So allow me to take you by the hand, help you tie your safety belt, tighten down the bar over your lap- waiting for the click sound (that’s how we all gauge our security on those roller coasters, isn’t it?!), and give me just a minute as I secure myself in the seat next to you.

We hear the attendant announce over the loud-speaker, “Enjoy the ride.”

Slowly the roller coaster car begins to climb that first hill. You know, the one where you ask yourself over and over, “Why did I get on here? Who’s idea was this anyway?” And then you look over at me, “Oh yeah, it was HER!!! It’s her fault I got on this stupid ride!! I can’t believe she convinced me this would be fun. Why on earth did I ever listen to heeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeer………..”

You were complaining so much, you didn’t even notice we were at the top of the roller coaster already. The coming down caught you by surprise. You were too busy criticizing and complaining because it’s someone else’s fault you’re here.

What if I told you that you being here has nothing to do with me?

What if I told you that you walked up to the line. You sat yourself down in the seat. You made a choice.

What if I told you that you being here has nothing to do with me and everything to do with the purpose of God upon your life.

Sure, you can blame me if you’d like. You can unsubscribe from receiving email updates from me. You can take this blog off your history list. You can choose never to read a word I have to say. (Although I hope you wouldn’t.)

But at the end of the day, you will have to stand in front of the person in the mirror. Those eyes staring back at you aren’t satisfied with mediocrity. They aren’t satisfied with merely existing. There’s more. So much more!

I fought the person in the mirror for years. Heck, I even went as far as only glancing quickly in the mirror. Standing there and looking at the sadness and emptiness in my own eyes was heartbreaking. It was much easier to glance at everything else quickly and keep it moving.

It’s very difficult to live in mediocrity when God has created you for purpose and with purpose.

And let me just clarify what I mean by greatness. I’m not talking about  that ‘hey-everybody-look-at-me-I’m-so-amazingly-wonderful-and-fabulous-can’t-take-your-eyes-off-me-can-‘ya?’ greatness. In fact, that’s not greatness at all. That’s insecurity wrapped up in pride. I’m talking about knowing who you are in Christ. Knowing that when God created you, He had a purpose in mind. I’m talking about knowing that greatness shouts at you from within because you were created to be an agent of change in this mediocrity infested world.

Again, you being here, has nothing to do with me and everything to do with the calling upon your life. 

Be Intentional

The ride can be scary at first. But there comes a time when you must make a choice. In order to experience growth, you must make choices. John Maxwell, puts it so well:

You. Me. We- must be intentional about the changes we’ve discussed this week. Otherwise, they will simply be words on a paper. I don’t know about you, but I want to continuously experience growth in my life. I want a life lived in the abundance God has for me that I may be a blessing to those I come in contact with.

Although it is quite frightening at first, if you can sit still, growing intentionally through the process, you will find the ride to be exhilarating, rejuvenating, and oh-so-refreshing!

It’s time to be intentional! Are you ready?

If you missed our series check them out below:

Changes, Changes. Are You Willing To Change?

Changes, Changes. Write The Vision.

Changes, Changes. Schedule It In. 


Subscribe by email


Posted on October 4, 2012, in DAILY LIFE, LIFE, LIFE LESSONS, SPIRITUAL GROWTH and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

