{The 20 Minute Rule: Part 2}


Okay so yesterday we talked about the {20 Minute Rule} challenge.

You were so patient in waiting for Part 2, so let’s just jump right into it.

First, we prayed about the areas that needed change. Now what?

Write It Down

Okay, this may be just me, but I need to see things written down. I need to see the plan in front of me, and I need to constantly remind myself why I am doing what I am doing. I have to know that there is purpose in what I do. Thinking it through and writing it down helps me to see the What? Why? When? and How?

The 20 Minute Rule

Okay folks, this one is new for me. But I have learned to do so many things in 20 minute chunks. From the {20 Minute Cleaning Challenge}  to the {20 Minute Swap}, I am finding that I can do almost anything if I set that timer for 20 minutes.

There you have it. Set the timer for 20 minutes and then just go!!! Mind boggling, eh? The brilliance of this oh-so-simple plan!

So what can you do in 20 minutes?

  • Throw some laundry in
  • Wash the dishes
  • Clean up the kitchen
  • Pick up the living room
  • Clean the bathroom
  • Take a quick jog
  • Sit and write a meal plan
  • Start dinner
  • Write. Write. Write.
  • Sit down and dream
  • Set goals
  • Align yourself to your goals
  • Read through a good portion of a Bible Chapter
  • Pray
  • Read a good book
  • Learn something new
  • Start the sewing project
  • Write out your Christmas list and goals
  • you choose one now…

Okay, you get the point.

I’m not saying that you need to only spend 20 minutes on these things. Lord knows I need more prayer than just 20 minutes in order to get through my day. What I’m saying is that if there are things like prayer and Bible reading (for example), that you struggle with, start with {The 20 Minute Rule}. You will be amazed at how God will take those 20 minutes and stretch them. Or how He gets you energized to keep going a bit longer.

Sometimes when I don’t want to do a thing. I walk myself to the timer and I just hit go. And I move. Do one thing for 20 minutes. Then do another. I mean, think about it, in 1 hour you can either procrastinate and do nothing; or you can do 3 {20 Minute} things.

So what do you say? Want to join me in seeing how much we can accomplish this week by implementing the {20 Minute Rule}? I’d love to catch up with you here next Wednesday and share just how much we’ve gotten done.

Just remember, this is not about a meaningless checklist. This is about your life. The life God created YOU to have. What changes is God calling you to make and then how can you implement those changes into 20 minute chunks?


Subscribe by email


Posted on September 27, 2012, in DAILY LIFE, FAMILY LIFE, FINANCES, HEALTHY LIFESTYLE, HOME & ORGANIZATION, LIFE, LIFE LESSONS, TIME MANAGEMENT and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

