{Learning New Things…}


There have been a couple of things on my ‘wish-to-do’ list that I’ve put off because I just don’t have the time. One of those is messing around with Photoshop. Well…this week I finally opened it up and after staring at the screen for several minutes, I decided to give it a go.

I’ve been working with Microsoft Publisher for the past 5 years and it’s very difficult for me to start learning something new, when I feel I can put things together so quickly with my good ‘ol Publisher. Nonetheless, it’s time.

Except for importing a picture, writing text and creating rectangles, I don’t know what I’m doing. So here’s today creation…

The other day when we went for a walk as a family, I came across this tree. I love the Weeping Willow, it’s so much fun during the summer to hide under its shade. It’s like an umbrella, or a secret hiding spot. Last week, I caught the leaves in the middle of their change. There were still green leaves waving in the wind, but many branches were already drying out, leaves rolling into a crunchy swirl.

Isn’t that funny?

The way nature must succumb to the inevitable? It matters not whether the leaves want to live and not die, they have lived the glorious days of summer. They’ve breathed in carbon dioxide and breathed out oxygen. They’ve made their contributions for this season and their time has come.

And I am reminded of the words in Ecclesiastes 3:1,

To everything there is a season and a time to every purpose under the heaven.

I feel the changes of the season. I feel the quietness. And I pray for God’s grace and mercy… I want to succumb to the changes God has for me. I want to bend in submission, trusting the One who created me with and for a purpose.

And it may seem unrelated and un-spiritual, but trying out Photoshop, rather than being stuck with ‘what I’m used to‘, is one of those uncomfortable and time-consuming processes.

So there you have it folks, I’m trying new things. Oh yeah, I even baked some homemade bread loaves {how’s that for jumping into new things, crazy, eh?!!}. The point is this, don’t stay stuck. Even when you don’t want to, do something. Anything.

Always be {In Pursuit}…

How about you? What new things are you trying?


Subscribe by email


Posted on September 20, 2012, in DEVOTIONALS, LIFE, LIFE LESSONS, SPIRITUAL GROWTH and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

