{From The Mouths Of Babes}


If you’ve stopped by {In Pursuit} in the past, you may know just how important my {Morning Dates} are. This morning while I was reading through my word, I heard some footsteps upstairs. I heard the faucet and I knew my morning date was being interrupted…Not good!!!

I need that quiet time. ALONE.

Yet there was my 12 year-old son wide awake, coming down the steps. It wasn’t even 7 am.

Oh no… I don’t have the energy yet…

To my surprise, we ended up having a wonderful time sharing and talking (all without the interruption of his little sister). By 9 am, we sat down for breakfast together and soon enough the sound of two other little feet was heard. I jokingly told my son, ‘oh boy, and I haven’t even written my blog yet. You’re going to have to write it for me today…’

His response?

“Okay, I already have something written”.

He went upstairs to get his Memory Stick and there were his devotionals. And so, today’s post is brought to you by Jay, my 12 year-old son. Here’s a glimpse into the heart of a young boy who loves God and His word.

From the mouths of babes…


Picnic (51)

Hello guys! Today I read a verse that I’m pretty sure most of us have heard a million times before. John 3:16.

I have heard that verse over and over as a child, and I continue to hear this verse today. But today I read it differently than the other hundred times I read it before. After reading John 3:16, I continued reading until the end of verse 21.

John 3:16- 21 says,For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life. For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but in order that the world might be saved through him. Whoever believes in him is not condemned, but whoever does not believe is condemned already, because he has not believed in the name of the only Son of God.

And this is the judgment: the light has come into the world, and people loved the darkness rather than the light because their works were evil. For everyone who does wicked things hates the light and does not come to the light, lest his works should be exposed. But whoever does what is true comes to the light, so that it may be clearly seen that his works have been carried out in God.”

I don’t know about you but I have NEVER read the verses that come after John 3:16. I re-read the following verses a couple of times and I started to really understand them. God sent his only son to die for us so that we can live with him after we die here on earth. He didn’t have to do that, but he loved us so much that he was willing to do that for us.

It also says that he didn’t come into the world to condemn us but to free us from our sins. I looked up the definition of condemned and the Merriam-Webster online dictionary said it is “to declare to be reprehensible, wrong, or evil usually after weighing evidence and without reservation.” Does that sound like God or Jesus to you? Of course not! Jesus didn’t come to point out our imperfections; he came to die for us so that we may be forgiven through Him.

The next part really interested me. It tells you what the judgment is. I read that twice, and this was brought into my spirit. God sent His son to die for us on the cross but everyday we act like we don’t care. We fully know and understand what he did that day yet we still sin and act like we are of this world. Of course we are going to sin because we have flesh, but there are times that we sin purposefully.

I started to think about the youth again. Everybody has heard that God has died for our sins, yet we come to church on Wednesdays and sit through the worship songs with our hands folded in our laps acting as if we don’t have a reason to praise him. I began to think about how selfish we really are.

How dare we sit down in church and text our friends or slouch in our chairs and talk during worship! We are brave enough to do that yet we can’t tell our friend from school, that’s going through a hard time because his parents are going through a divorce, that Jesus loves them. We dare to sit down yet we don’t dare to be the person to make a difference in our schools. We don’t dare be the one person that is known for telling people about God. Why aren’t we being the people that God has called us to be? Why can’t we be the ones to lead the schools to God?

It all starts with us. We are the chosen ones and if we don’t take advantage of this opportunity then who will? God called us to teach others about salvation. He has called us to be a light in this world and if we aren’t “shining bright”, how will the people hear that there is purpose in life?

I am ready to take charge as a youth and really begin to take advantage of this opportunity that I have as a Christian. I am really going to start being the person God has called me to be and I pray and hope that you would be willing to join me in leading other young souls to Christ because I don’t know about you but when judgment day comes, I want to hear God say, “Well done my good and faithful servant!”

Posted on August 7, 2012, in DEVOTIONALS, FAMILY LIFE, MOTHERING ON PURPOSE, PARENTING, SPIRITUAL GROWTH and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

