{It’s War! You Must Be Intentional, Purposeful, and Fearless!}


I don’t know about you, but being a mother has shaken me out of my comfort zone. I have been up against the Goliaths of this world and to say that I’ve felt like little ‘ol David, is an understatement!

However, I’m learning that physical size is not as important as being called.

Sure, David being Goliath’s size might have seemed a bit more ‘fair’.

Sure, David wearing Saul’s protective armor would have been more reasonable.

Sure, there were other men in the army more ‘capable in training’ to step up to Goliath.

Yet still, David was chosen!

As a parent, I have come head to head to with the war for my children. Some think this is crazy. Some think it is fanatical. But 2 Corinthians 10:3-5 tell me this:

For though we walk in the flesh, we do not war according to the flesh. 4 For the weapons of our warfare are not carnal but mighty in God for pulling down strongholds, 5 casting down arguments and every high thing that exalts itself against the knowledge of God, bringing every thought into captivity to the obedience of Christ…

And so, although I may feel like little ‘ol David standing up to a very intimidating Goliath. I don’t worry about fair. I don’t waste time looking for solutions that don’t fit. I don’t look around and wait for someone more ‘capable’ to do the job.

I know I’ve been chosen for this one!

Instead, I move forward relentlessly. I don’t wait for someone else to quiet the giant. I am prepared. I already have my armor on.  I don’t give up on my children. I don’t give up on the next generation of rising priest and kings.

Living {In Pursuit} requires me to be intentional, purposeful, and fearless!!

It requires me to be attentive to what’s going on in my own household. I can’t afford to walk blindly. I can’t afford to be preoccupied with something else. I must not be caught sleeping on the job.

If I sense it, I call it out.

If I see it, I begin to tear down.

It’s war, mothers and fathers. There is a war out there for the hearts of our children. There is a war out there for the minds of our young ones. There is a war out there to rob and steal the legacy of faith that belongs to our children.

They are the future ambassadors going to the ends of the earth with the message of this amazing gospel. They are the future preachers and evangelists. These little ones, in our care today, will one day be the ones carrying the gospel of Jesus Christ.

It’s war! Be intentional. Be purposeful. Be fearless.

You don’t face this Goliath alone.

Then said David to the Philistine, You come to me with a sword, and with a spear, and with a shield: but I come to you in the name of the LORD of hosts, the God of the armies of Israel, whom you have defied.

1 Samuel 17:45

Mother. Father. You fight for your children with weapons already in your possession. You fight for your children in the name of the LORD of host!!!

The victory is already yours, but you must fight.

It’s war! Be intentional. Be purposeful. Be fearless.


Subscribe by email


Posted on July 31, 2012, in DEVOTIONALS, FAMILY LIFE, LIFE, LIFE LESSONS, MOTHERING ON PURPOSE, PARENTING, SPIRITUAL GROWTH and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a Reply

