{The Call Button, That’s All It Takes…}


It’s morning. Another dark night has passed and the light of day is streaming through my window. It always amazes me how regardless of how dark the night may have been, the law of nature declares, there will always be a new morning. The sun will come up and when it does, all darkness will dissipate.

But what if I told you that you can find light in your darkness whenever you want… what would you think about that? What if I told you that even in the darkest moment of your life, the Light of Christ can shine so bright you won’t be afraid of the darkness you’re walking through?!

What if I told you that in Christ, there is always light.

Your word is a lamp to my feet
And a light to my path.

Psalm 119:105

What if I told you that in Christ you can go through your life-changing-earth-giving-way-mountains-falling-into-the-heart-of-the-sea experiences without stumbling and without wavering?

{The Call Button}

There is a remote my son holds throughout the day. It has buttons to turn on the TV, adjust the volume and the channels. It has buttons for managing the lighting in the room. And added to this collage of buttons is one button which stands out above the rest. It’s the most important button on that remote. All you see is a diagram of a face with a nurse hat on. And although most nurses don’t wear that hat anymore, the cross on it tells us that this button will not summon just anybody. It will summon the person who is available and in charge of your specific situation.

We’ve been sitting here in the hospital with what I call, medications, IV’s, and the blood of Jesus.

My son knows the drill. He calls the nurse with one press of the button and on the other side, you hear, “Can I help you?”

And my son tells the nurse exactly what he needs because he trusts that she will answer his request.

I’ve got pain.

The IV is starting to hurt.

I need help with…

And regardless of the request he makes, the answer is always the same.

“Okay, I’ll be right in.”

The call button helps him to instantly connect with the person who has the answers he’s looking for. With one press of the button, he finds comfort knowing that someone (with the authority to fix the issue) is coming.  With one press of the button a solution to his problem is found.

{My Call Button} 

I watch. I observe. And then… without hesitation, I take out my call button. All it takes is one prayer to cause things to move. All it takes is one declaration of faith to shift things in the atmosphere. And so I use my weapon of warfare. I use my mouth to declare the truths of God’s word over my life, over my son, over my mind, over my heart.

I declare God’s joy and peace to abound. I declare healing. I command every cell which has been attacking itself to fall its proper formation. I declare. I declare. I declare!

I press my call button and immediately, the One with all the authority over our situation appears.

The difference with my call button is that the answer on the other side of my request is not

How can I help you?

Instead, on the other side of my petition, I hear the amazing declaration

It is finished!

{No Room For Darkness} 

And so, in my darkest moments, all that is required is for me to come to Him, to call on Him.

28 Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy to bear, and the burden I give you is light.”

 

And when I do, I find clarity.  I’m not groping in the air for answers. I’m not struggling to hold onto peace and hope and joy and love… because it is finished. It is already mine. I already posses it. I am hidden in Him and in Him there is no darkness (1 John 1:5).

Jesus said, “I am the light of the world. If you follow me, you won’t have to walk in darkness, because you will have the light that leads to life.

John 8:12, NLT

The word has been declared, Victory, 5 times over!!! And so I pay attention, because I know God’s name will be glorified.

{Your Call Button}

Go ahead, I challenge you. Try out your call button. Don’t be afraid it won’t work, that it won’t respond. He says, “call unto me and I will respond.” It’s a promise. God will respond. And even more than that, He goes on to say, “and I will show you great and unsearchable things you did not know,” (Jeremiah 33:3, NIV).

I’m telling you that the One with the authority to answer your questions is available.

I’m telling you that the One with the solutions to your problems wants you to call on Him.

I’m telling you that the One, whose light will dissipate your darkness, is one call away.

That’s it my friend, one prayer is all it takes to get His attention.

I don’t know what your current situation is. I don’t know what has troubled your heart, mind, and spirit. But I do know that there is  God whose peace transcends  all understanding. And that peace is available for you. He can give you clarity to get through whatever turmoil you’re facing.

Take it from me, who’s writing to you from an uncomfortable cot in a hospital, miles and miles away from my home, with my son laying next to me attached to IV’s and medication.

If God’s peace and joy can abound here, between the four walls of this hospital room, it can reach you there too!!

Press the call button, that’s all it takes!

 

 

 

 

Posted on July 20, 2012, in DEVOTIONALS, FAMILY LIFE, LIFE, LIFE LESSONS, MOTHERING ON PURPOSE, PARENTING, SPIRITUAL GROWTH. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

