{When The Mountains Are Falling Into The Sea…I’m Not Afraid}


God is our refuge and strength,

an ever-present help in trouble.

Therefore we will not fear, though the earth give way

and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea,

though its waters roar and foam

and the mountains quake with their surging.       Selah

Psalms 46:1-3

This is the verse God gave me months ago. I didn’t understand why He was giving it to me. Quite frankly, I didn’t want to receive it. To receive it meant that I had to accept that something drastic, something catastrophic, might occur in my life.

‘Uh, that’s okay God. I’ve had about enough life altering experiences for the last 5 years of my life. I think I’ll pass on that ‘life-changing-earth-giving-way-mountains-falling-into-the-heart-of-the-sea experience.’

Isn’t life funny like that?

We try to negotiate with God which experiences we should go through. We try to tell the Creator what we can handle.

‘You know God. I think you’ve got the wrong person because I’m just not that strong!’

Months ago, when the Lord gave me that verse, I ended up in the Emergency Room with my son. He was admitted to the hospital and we spent 8 long days in a room attached to an IV and medications.

As a mother, my heart broke because I had no control over what was happening. Yet those words continued ringing in my spirit…

“Do not fear. Regardless of what catastrophic event happens in your life…. do not fear. I am ever present in your time of trouble.”

Fast forward 4 and a half months later, my son was doing great.

Yesterday at about 7:30 am. The Lord gave me the verse again…

Do not fear, though the earth give way

and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea…

I looked at my husband and said, ‘I wonder what’s in store for me today…’

You wouldn’t believe it lest I shared it with you… but less than 6 hours later, the symptoms were coming back and soon enough I was back in the ER with my son.

He was admitted.

I hadn’t shared this part of my journey here on {In Pursuit}. I hadn’t shared about the nights I cried. The questions without answers. The many prayers requesting healing. I hadn’t shared my faith journey and how God has used, even this, to glorify Himself.

I believe in God’s healing for my son. I believe that this sickness is foreign to His body. I believe that God is in control. I believe that He is doing a greater work, one that I am not yet able to understand.

And while this part of my journey is very private. I felt the need to share. Perhaps you are a mother who’s also come face to face with a life threatening diagnosis. Perhaps there’s some other thing in the life of your child which consumes you with worry and fear. Perhaps you’re enduring a crisis situation, a life-changing-earth-giving-way-mountains-falling-into-the-heart-of-the-sea experience-

If that’s you, I encourage you to ‘be still and know that He is God’ (Psalm 46:10). Know that there is no situation or circumstance that God isn’t already taking care of. Know that you can attain a peace, beyond what you’ve imagined, when you cast your burdens on the Lord. He doesn’t leave you to go through these life changing situations alone.

I love that about Him!!!

Yes, even here… with babies crying in adjoining rooms, machines beeping away, nurses and doctors coming in and out checking vitals, sickness all around us…. even here, there is a peace that surpasses all understanding. There is an anchor for my soul. An anchor for your soul.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding…

‘Yes Lord. I trust fully and completely in you… even in these  life-changing-earth-giving-way-mountains-falling-into-the-heart-of-the-sea experiences’.


Posted on July 11, 2012, in DEVOTIONALS, FAMILY LIFE, LIFE, LIFE LESSONS, MOTHERING ON PURPOSE, PARENTING, SPIRITUAL GROWTH and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

Leave a Reply

