{Me and My Chipped Edges}


logo


Now you can be notified by email every time a new post goes up. Save time and keep on top of everything that’s new here on {In Pursuit}. Simply subscribe via email on the side right bar. Remember… we are on this journey together!!


Every day, I have a choice to show up here on {In Pursuit}. It still humbles me to think that you show up to read what I have to say. I am touched by the emails and comments I receive. Amazed that something or another I’ve said would help you to move out of the chaos. Move out of the ordinary.

DSC_0232

Why? Because every day, I too, have to make the same decision over and over. Every day I have to choose the abundant life God has for me. I have to jump over hurdles, climb mountains, walk lonely valleys, push through obstacles… sometimes, the journey seems so difficult.

I sit here waiting for my cup of tea to steep and I notice the big chip on my favorite coffee mug. I can’t hold the cup and sip straight from the middle otherwise, my mouth would land right on the chip and drinking tea or coffee that way just doesn’t feel right.

I could turn the cup around to the other side, but again, holding my mug in my left hand doesn’t feel quite right either.

I could throw it out and buy a new mug… or I could just use one of the other 3 identical coffee mugs I have sitting in my cupboard. Yet usually, I end up with this one.

{To me, this cup is perfectly usable.}

There’s something about those things which others may deem ‘not usable’. There’s something about the chips, and cuts, and bruises, we too, endure and display.

I mean- this cup, it actually reminds me of me. I understand it’s imperfections.

In a world filled with so many copy cats, I’m an original. And those scars, those wounds, the brokenness… they all set me apart. They all have been used of God to mold me into a vessel. His vessel. Perhaps ‘unusable’ to the human eye. But to the Devine, I still am capable of carrying Presence.

And so, on mornings like today, when the world is heavy on my shoulders and I cannot imagine how the Lord can use this broken and weary vessel, I hear Him calling…

 

“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.”

Matthew 11:28-30

The Message (MSG)

 

Yes Lord. Today, the ‘urgencies’ of this world will have to wait. Today I rest in you. Today I am reminded that my ‘chipped edges’ are precisely what allows Your name to be glorified. Because You, oh God, You are my strength. Your grace is sufficient. Your power is made perfect in weakness (2 Corinthians 12:9), You are my portion. You are.

My tea is ready for me now. I pick up my cup, chipped edge and all, and I rest in Him.

Posted on July 10, 2012, in DEVOTIONALS, LIFE, LIFE LESSONS, SPIRITUAL GROWTH and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

