{I’m Unable To Change Things}


I’m teaching them. Yet I’m speaking to me.

I’m telling them the stories about men and women long gone. Yet I’m speaking to me.

“God calls us to obedience. Delayed obedience, half obedience is the same as disobedience.”

Since last week we’ve been going over the same verse:

“If you love Me, you will do what I command,” (John 14:15)

And I close my Bible, do a prayer with the children after our devotional time… the day goes on.

Life is hard. One mom, two very different children… each tugging on me. Each wanting my attention. Each wanting my time. And I’m drained. I have nothing left in me to give, yet those faces look at me asking for more.

Other moms go to work. Other moms have time to themselves. Other moms don’t have their children tugging at them 24/7. Other moms…

And the words echo, If you love Me, you will do what I command,”

Yes Lord, but what you call me to do…I have no strength to do.

Yet still, the faces look at me. They look to me. They search for answers. They search for stability. They search for comfort. For love. For security.

Lord, I don’t have all the answers. I don’t know how to handle two children bickering back and forth all day, every day. Nothing I do seems to work. Nothing I say seems to help. I’m exhausted.

“If you love Me, you will do what I command.”

Yes Lord. I give up all my worldly pursuits to pursue the calling over my life.

Me. Here. Right. Now.

I trade all the make-me-feel-important-titles the world has to offer me for the most important title: Mom.

I sow today into these children believing and trusting that I will reap a great harvest.

And I look at those faces. I make an announcement.

Everyone get your shoes on. We’re going on a walk.

I hand an mp3 player to them and I give them each one side of the headphones. And we walk.

No bickering. No fighting. No picking on each other. No pushing. No shoving. No name calling.

We simply walk…

IMAG0306

IMAG0307

IMAG0308

We walked for an hour. Me behind them. Watching in amazement at what was happening in front of me. No lectures. No mediating. No pulling apart. No holding the boy with one hand while simultaneously holding the girl with the other hand.

Actually, there was a lot of laughter. A lot of dancing. A lot of love and unity.

Thank You Lord, only You can do this. You amaze me!

And it all makes sense. He is my source. My obedience to be in this place is required. It’s necessary. If I love Him, if I love God, I will do what He commands me to do. Be here. Right now.

He will take care of the rest. The things I am unable to change day in and day out, He is able to change with one walk, one mp3 player, and one headset.

Posted on June 28, 2012, in DEVOTIONALS, FAMILY LIFE, LIFE, LIFE LESSONS, MOTHERING ON PURPOSE, PARENTING, SPIRITUAL GROWTH and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

