{Celebrating Father’s Day }


Father’s Day is quickly approaching and I know one special guy who deserves to be spoiled and treated. So how do you let that special dad in your life know just how much they mean to you?

I have to admit, I’m new at this. Although I’ve been married for 6 years and we celebrate Father’s Day each year, my heart has always been divided on this holiday. I grew up without a father so to me, Father’s Day was always a reminder of what I didn’t have. Listening to people speak about their ‘great fathers’ tore at my heart. They had what I longed for.

A few years ago the Lord began to show me the attitude I carried during this time of the year (and holidays, period). He showed me that my bitterness was blinding me to two very important things:

Christmas Eve at home (66)1.) He had adopted me into His family. Now God called himself my Father. I no longer had to walk in jealousy and envy of daughters whose fathers were present in their lives. God is a Father to the fatherless.. That’s me. He’s my daddy!

2.) God blessed me with a wonderful father to our children. My husband. My blessing.

So now, rather than walk in bitterness, anger, and jealousy, I use all that energy to pour love, encouragement, and blessings upon my husband. The lack of a father figure in my home should not be a deterrent in my demonstrating appreciation and love to the father of my children.

Now on the morning of Father’s Day, I open my eyes and the first words out of my mouth and heart go to my Heavenly Father…

”Happy Father’s Day, Daddy!! I celebrate You!”

and then to my beloved husband…

“Happy Father’s Day sweetie. We are so blessed to have you in our lives!”

 

{There’s more…}

And so, the search for Father’s Day Ideas began this weekend. Some fun, (some) inexpensive, and easy-to-do ideas to shower that special dad in your life include:

  • making his favorite breakfast
  • ‘’ favorite lunch
  • ‘’ favorite dinner
  • showering dad with cards
  • have the kids write a special poem
  • 20 reasons why we love and appreciate you…
  • get dad a special outfit
  • new tie
  • tickets to his favorite sports game
  • family picnic at his favorite park
  • get all his shirts dry-cleaned
  • new watch
  • framed picture of dad with the kids
  • letter of appreciation (let dad know why you appreciate him)
  • several gifts to open every hour (ex. 9:08 am, 10:08 am, 11:08 am, …)
  • take him to his favorite restaurant
  • fishing gear
  • sports equipment
  • car washing kit
  • that new gadget he’s had his eye on
  • a surprise family trip
  • memory album with pictures of him and the kids
  • personalized gift
  • devotional for fathers

These are just a few ways in which to celebrate the dad in your life. But the most important thing to remember is that Father’s Day should not be just another day on your yearly planner. Instead, celebrate that father each and every day. Affirmation, affirmation, affirmation. Your words alone have the ability to build and encourage that special dad in your life.

So how about you? What ideas do you have for this Father’s Day?

I want to hear from you!!

Posted on June 5, 2012, in DEVOTIONALS, FAMILY FUN, FAMILY LIFE, HOLIDAYS, LIFE, LIFE LESSONS, SPIRITUAL GROWTH and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

Leave a Reply

