{Instant Attitude Adjustment}


 

I didn’t understand it before, but in the last two years, I learned that for me, anxiety feels like there’s a weight stuck between my chest and my throat. You know what I’m talking about right? It’s that feeling that doesn’t go away and keeps gnawing at you. The same thing, over and over again.

DSC_0336

My pursuit, although very difficult at times, requires me to change many paradigms and worldviews. I used to carry that anxiety around until it robbed me of my passion, robbed me of my joy, and brought it’s cousin ‘Depression’ along.

I understand now that I have been given power and that my mouth can declare God’s word over my attitude causing things to automatically adjust and align themselves in the atmosphere and in my spirit.

The other day, while in prayer, I began to speak a sound mind over myself. I began to declare Philippians 4:5-7:

Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! 5 Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. 6 Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. 7 And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

During my prayer time, another verse came to mind (Philippians 4:8):

whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.

I thought I should get my search engine out to find where this verse was, but I had so much to do that I put it off.

I’ve had this 31 days of prayer for my children thing I am doing where each day, it gives me a simple verse to meditate on and I’m supposed to meditate on it and take it to the Lord. So out comes the paper and lo and behold, there it is… Philippians 4:8, my memory verse for the day…


“whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.”


And that’s when I laughed and thought, Lord, you are too much. You make it so easy for me. I have no excuse.

So I turned the sheet around, got out my pencil. I wrote the verse down and I began to jot down all the things in my life that were true, noble, right, pure, lovely, admirable, excellent, or praiseworthy. As I took the lead to paper, etched before me on that sheet, was proof of God’s goodness and faithfulness over my life. With each stroke of the pencil the weight on my chest lessened.

-Life

– Children

-Loving husband

-Provision, it’s constant. You’ve never failed us.

-$0 credit card debt! Hallelujah!

-Your faithfulness

-Your mercy

-Your grace….

On and on my list went. On and on before me, a testament of the many blessings I enjoy freely each and every day.

And by the time I reached the end of my paper, the anxiety was gone. It was replaced with thanksgiving and gratitude. It was replaced with an understanding that my world is in His hands. And the peace of God, promised in Philippians 4:7, poured through me guarding my heart and my mind!

DSC_0341

{my gift to you…}

What I experienced that morning was so wonderful, I just couldn’t keep it to myself.  Whether it’s anxiety, depression, anger, jealousy, bitterness, or the like, the moment you begin to think on things that are true, noble, right, pure, lovely, admirable, excellent, or praiseworthy, you too will undergo an instant attitude adjustment.

So click below and get your FREE printable.And as an added bonus, for those of you with kids, I added a FREE printable for them as well.

Attitude Adjustment

Attitude Adjustment, for kids

I pray that taking a few minutes to go through the short exercise will bless you as much as it blessed me!

Praying God’s peace over your life,

Darlene

Posted on April 19, 2012, in DAILY LIFE, DEVOTIONALS, LIFE, LIFE LESSONS, SPIRITUAL GROWTH and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

