{In Pursuit Of An Adventure}


I’m so glad you’ve decided to stop by today. I don’t take it lightly that you’re investing some of your precious time here on {In Pursuit}. And so today, allow me a couple minutes to share with you my heart…

If you’re anything like me, then you’re a true romantic at heart. As a little girl, I dreamt of the knight in shining armor coming to rescue me. I made many wrong choices chasing ‘love’. And not just any kind of ‘love’, but romance. You know the one found in movies where in 2 hours you go from hopelessly lost to total bliss. The kind where you fight over something, break up and he chases you across town before you jump on the plane because he loves you and can’t live his life without you. You know, the kind of love and romance where you live happily ever after. 

I guess in the depths of my soul, I simply longed to be loved. Not with the love that this world offers, but that sacrificial love that says, ‘Darlene, I love you soooo much that I am willing to give my life for yours’. That Romeo and Juliet kind of love that we girls look for.

And you know, throughout life, I find that although my husband and I love each other dearly, and although God has blessed me and made me, Darlene the woman, whole. I continue to desire adventure. I continue to desire excitement. I continue to desire to be swept off my feet.

And I look at my husband and I think, I am so in love with you. Yet even still, he is not able to meet the part of me that God’s created to be filled only by Him. I look at food, money, ambitions, the past, and they make many promises of excitement, fulfillment and momentary happiness. Even the past, with choices already long made, calls out promising to fulfill what you long for, promising to start right where you left off.

Yet I understand that life is about choices.

Sometimes you have to go against your own feelings, because you know that truth is the only standard. Then you shut the past (and everything else) out, throw out the keys, and never look back…because some doors aren’t meant to be opened again, some doors aren’t meant to be opened at all.

And then ladies, then, you live with your decision. Then you trust. You trust God that your decisions are good and that He holds your world in His hands. That what He has to offer you is so much better than what you left behind. So much better than that temptation before you.

So ladies, I’m in pursuit of an adventure. Except 10 years older now, I don’t believe in those 2 hour romances portrayed by Hollywood. Instead, deep in my spirit, I believe that God is calling me closer. To abide in Him always. To remain in Him. And I am choosing Him. I am choosing Him in total abandonment and surrender. I am choosing Him believing that He is head-over-heels in love with me and believing that when He offers me the world, not only does He mean it, but He has the power to back it up.

I’m choosing to believe that my Knight in shining armor fights for me daily. Fierce, bloody battles. He fights for my honour! He fights for our relationship! He fights for my life!

I’m choosing to believe that every time I turn my heart away from the offers of this world, I am choosing to live out a romance like no other. I am choosing adventure which money can’t buy. I am choosing true, total, and complete love-

… and the best thing about it all is that my story does end in a

 

Happily Ever After…

How about you? Do you feel like you are choosing God? Or are you giving in to whatever fleshly desire  creeps up promising to make you happy, whole, and fulfilled? Are you believing the lies of the enemy which promise you excitement and adventure only to leave you empty and ‘wanting more’?

Posted on April 16, 2012, in DAILY LIFE, DEVOTIONALS, LIFE, LIFE LESSONS, SPIRITUAL GROWTH and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

