{Training Your Children In The Word}


Hey ya’ll, I am so glad to have you back after a long weekend of celebration. Easter day was beautiful! Unfortunately for me, I spent the entire Easter weekend sick. Although, I still don’t feel ‘great’. It’s time to get back into the swing of things, so I’m back. Bear with me, I have my cup of water in one hand and the tissue box in the other, but we’ll get through this {smile}.

Today, I am especially excited to show you a new addition to our families devotional/ instructional time. I don’t know about you, but I am always looking for interesting, efficient, and effective ways to teach my children about God’s word. I may have a lot to say, but once its all said and done, I don’t want them to leave home with only ‘what mom and dad’ said. I want them to leave home with the arsenal that will help them conquer whatever battles they may encounter… the sword of the Spirit, God’s word.

I’ve shared with you my Bible Reading Plan and our Word of Promise Audio Bible. Allow me to share with you now this simple tool, THE CHILD TRAINING BIBLE.

I did not create this. It was created by Mindy and her husband, you can check out their story {here} along with a tutorial with step-by-step instructions.

Mindy’s kit comes with cards which display different topics a parent and child deal with. Things like Pride, Lying, Quarreling, Laziness, Anger, Selfishness, and more. Each topic has a color assigned to it and for each topic/color you have several scriptures highlighted throughout the Bible.

DSC_0226

 

{Tools Used}

DSC_0223

DSC_0227DSC_0228

This project was so easy that my 12 year old son did the entire thing. He looked up the scripture, highlighted it with the correct color, then lined up the guide and placed the post-it tab in it’s appropriate location. Simple.

 

DSC_0221

DSC_0214

I meant to take an after shot so that you can see it completed, but my battery died, so  will have to show you later, or you can go to THE CHILD TRAINING BIBLE website and view their finished version.

My son kept raving about it as he went through. In order to highlight the appropriate scripture, he had to read it first to make sure that it matched the category. So let me just say that putting the whole thing together allowed him to read through quite an amount of scripture, and the best part- he was not complaining. He liked it so much, he decided he wanted to do the same thing on his own bible. Yes, ladies- I know it’s hard to believe, but it’s true.

I’ve gone through it and I must say, it is so awesome to be able to find the scripture you need in the moment that it’s needed. So many times, we know there’s a verse in the bible that deals with our parenting issue but we don’t know where it’s at. The Child Training Bible kit allow you to find what you’re looking for quickly.

Well, there you have it, another important tool in our pursuit to be a family whose foundation is the word of God. It’s not always easy, but I am a firm believer that every seed I deposit into my children will produce fruit.

So how about you? What tools/ games/ activities do you use to instruct your children in the ways of the Lord?

Posted on April 10, 2012, in DAILY LIFE, DEVOTIONALS, FAMILY LIFE, LIFE, LIFE LESSONS, MOTHERING ON PURPOSE, PARENTING, SPIRITUAL GROWTH and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

