{Good Friday}


It’s Good Friday. Today we remember the death of Jesus. Today, I am reminded of all in me that needs to die so that He may live.

Today, I’m starving the flesh. I’m killing areas of me that have long fought to stay alive.

Today, I sacrifice…a sacrifice which is so small in comparison to the sacrifice He made on a day like today, long ago.

Today… I refuse to walk away from today with the sin that He died to free me from.

Today… I refuse to walk away from today with nothing but an Easter Play and a few Hallelujahs.

Today… I refuse to walk away from the cross and act as though my sin did not contribute to His crucifixion.

Today, I stand there at the cross. I recognize the broken body before me. I see the blood pouring from his body, dripping down that cross. I look closely at the nails piercing his hands and feet and I take a good look at the crown of thorns.

Today, I acknowledge that it is my sin and my depravity which held Him there on that cross.

Today, I acknowledge that it was His love, not my works, that filled Him with the passion to die for me.

Today, I starve this flesh. I’m killing the areas in me which contributed and continue to contribute to every lash on His body.

Today, I starve this flesh. There are thing that must die.

And as I become an active participant of the crucifixion, I know that there is a resurrection that follows. I know that because He lives, I live. I know that nothing that I give up is really lost, because if it was mine to keep, He’d give it to me. If not, I never needed it.

I surrender today. I starve this flesh. I know that my redeemer lives and that His sacrifice and His resurrection mean that, I too, have life.

There are dead things that will remain dead. And there are dead things that will resurrect in the likeness of Him who created me!

It’s Good Friday girls, and not just any old Good Friday… It’s the Good Friday where we put things to rest.

Have an amazing day on purpose. Because today, it is finished!!

Posted on April 6, 2012, in DEVOTIONALS, HOLIDAYS, LIFE, LIFE LESSONS, SPIRITUAL GROWTH and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

