{The Secret…}


imageI shared with you last week about the book study I’m currently doing {THE RESOLUTION REVOLUTION for Women} by Priscilla Shirer. It’s the women’s version of {THE RESOLUTION for Men} from the makers of the movie, Courageous. {<—- click here for my Movie Review}.

It’s part of a book club I do with a couple of friends. If you are interested in going through this book with me, feel free to join me here on {In Pursuit} where I will share with you some of what I’ve been reading and learning. This book can be purchased online or through your local Christian book store.

{The Secret}

In Chapter two, The Secret, Priscilla talks about contentment as Paul describes it: a skill he had chosen and adopted. “I have learned to be content in whatever circumstances I am” (Phil. 4:11). Paul’s secret was that he resolved to be content.

He knew how to have a lot and he knew how to have little. Regardless of the situation, he knew he was “able to do all things through Christ who strengthened” him (Phil. 4:13).

Why do we mistrust? Why can’t we just believe God’s truth? Why do we get anxious and all crazy when things get out of whack?

I believe it’s because our focus is on the wrong thing. The other morning I woke up with anxiety heavy on my chest. Although there are several issues that need to be taken care of, I really didn’t understand where this anxiety was coming from (other than of course, the enemy). But there is one thing I know… the word:

6 Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; 7 and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

Philippians 4:6-7 (NKJV)

So I began to cast it out and I began to fill my mind and mouth with praise and thanksgiving. I began to trust God’s word for peace. Not just any kind of peace, but the type of peace that goes beyond what I am able to comprehend- God’s peace. It guards my heart from sinning against God and it guards my mind from going crazy when things don’t work out the way I want them to.

{So What’s The Secret?}

Choose contentment.

I am choosing to be resolved and contented with my life today.

I choose to trust that God is good and that He is good over my life.

I choose to trust that my future is in His hands.

I choose to trust that He is my provider.

Is it easy? No. Does anxiety try to keep creeping up at me… Oh yeah.

Will I allow it to dominate my day? Not a chance.

Your God can be trusted to grant you the supply you need to excel at His purposes. So if you don’t have it-whatever it is- it’s because you don’t need it.

(Shirer, p. 20)

Today I choose to live my life on purpose and with purpose. Thankful and in gratitude for all the blessings along the way. How about you?

Question from the book:

What might God be trying to grow in your character or cement in your relationship with Him by keeping you separated from some of the things you want but don’t yet have?

(Shirer, p. 22)
Posted on March 7, 2012, in BIBLE READING, BOOK CLUB, DEVOTIONALS, LIFE, LIFE LESSONS, SPIRITUAL GROWTH, THE RESOLUTION REVOLUTION and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a Reply

