{Between The Enemy and The Sea…}


imageI’m stuck here. Stuck between the pages of my Bible. Stuck between a couple of chapters, unable to move forward. I have a schedule, a Reading Plan to adhere to if I’m going to make it through the Bible in a year… I’ve even tried catching up on my Bible on CD. Yet I’m stuck. Stuck in the wilderness with the people of Israel. Stuck between the sea on one side and Pharaoh’s army charging at me from the other.

I’m skin deep in this. I can understand the heart palpitations that rise up when the enemy is so close you could see him. The sound of the enemies’ horses marching towards you in unison. The ground pounding and shaking beneath you. Danger is near. It’s easy to allow fear to take over, easy to forget the joy and confidence you felt when you defiantly left the Egyptian camp with all that plunder and with so much hope.

The horse chariots are closing in. So close you could see the vast army of the enemy closing in on you… Now is a good time to panic, eh?

{What’s going on here?}

Wait a minute… someone press pause. What’s going on here? How did God’s people end up in such a predicament?

How did I end up in this predicament?

I’m glued to this story unfolding before me, because it’s my story. Me, Gods’ chosen. Me, a part of God’s people. I made a decision. I embarked on a journey. I resolved to live a life {In Pursuit} of God’s abundance for my life. No longer satisfied with lack and with discontentment, bondage and slavery, I embarked on a pursuit to live the Promised Land experience. Yet somewhere between Egypt and the Promised Land is a sea and a raging army, fierce and relentless in it’s desire to destroy me.

{When confronted in battle, remember…}

I am so thankful for God’s Word which allows us to see into the heart and mind of God. I read slowly, purposefully… back to the words God spoke to Moses before Egypt’s army came charging after the people of Israel… and the Lord equips me,

1.) God warned Moses beforehand of what was going to happen (Exodus 14:4).

2.) God hardened the heart of Pharaoh and strengthened his resolve to chase after the Israelites (Exodus 14:8).

And once again I will harden Pharaoh’s heart, and he will chase after you. I have planned this so I will receive great glory at the expense of Pharaoh and his army. After this, the Egyptians will know that I am the Lord!” So the Israelites camped there as they were told.

Exodus 14:4

 

3.) The enemy was so close, the Israelites could see them and they began to panic  and cry out (Exodus 14:10).

4.) Sometimes you will just have to be still and watch as the Lord fights for you!

 

Moses said, “don’t be afraid. Just stand where you are and watch the Lord rescue you. the Egyptians you see today will never be seen again. The Lord himself will fight for you. You won’t have to lift a finger in your defense.

Exodus 14:13-14

 

5.) Being still and waiting on the Lord does not mean doing nothing. When you see the enemy closing in, renounce fear and activate faith. Then act on that faith.

 

God says, “Why are you crying out to me? Tell the people to get moving!”

(Exodus 14: 15)

 

6.) Experience the deliverance of the Lord!!!

Most of you know how this part of the story goes. When Moses raises his hand over the sea the Lord opened up a path through the water and the Israelites marched through the sea on dry land. How’s that for an amazing escape?!! When they got to the other side, they looked and there was Pharaoh’s army on that dry path, chasing after them, determined to destroy them.

When all the Israelites were on the other side, the Lord said to Moses, “Raise your hand over the sea again. Then the waters will rush back over the Egyptian chariots and charioteers.” So as the sun began to rise, Moses raised his hand over the sea and the water roared back into its usual place, and the Lord swept the terrified Egyptians into the surging currents. The waters covered all the chariots and charioteers- the entire army of Pharaoh. Of all the Egyptians who had chased the Israelites into the sea, not one single one survived.

Exodus 14:26-28

 

{Now I understand…}

Yes, Lord. Now I understand why I was stuck in-between these chapters. Now I understand why I was glued to this story. There was so much here for me to grasp. So much insight for me to pick up for my own journey.  Thank you!

I make my declaration. Today. Tomorrow. Always.

God is for me! I will stand still, activate faith, and see the redemption of the Lord!

He will work all things out for my good and for His glory! I remind myself of the word upon my life. I remind myself of the word upon my family. I remind myself that God already prepared me for this. I “fix my eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of my faith, who for the joy set before him, endured the cross,”(Hebrews 12:2).

Joy is set before me, therefore let faith arise.

I’m {In Pursuit} of my Promised Land; {In Pursuit} of the abundant life God has for me!!

Posted on March 6, 2012, in DEVOTIONALS, LIFE, LIFE LESSONS, SPIRITUAL GROWTH and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

