{To Whom Much Is Given… Much Is Required}


“… For everyone to whom much is given, from him much will be required; and to whom much has been committed, of him they will ask the more.”

Luke 12:48 (New King James Version)

Usually, I wake up ready to go. Ready to face life with its challenges and demands. Usually, I wake up pushing past the laziness and procrastination; pushing past myself.

Last week, while reading through God’s Word, I felt the Holy Spirit reminding me…

you cannot live out of your reserves, you must live out of the overflow…

I’m naturally a ‘fight through whatever’ kind of person. It can be so easy to keep fighting and fighting through and then wake up one day without strength or energy. I know how that battle plan works. I fought that way for years.

But things are different now. I’m growing up. I know it because I no longer cry about the things I used to cry about. I no longer whine about petty things, and I no longer make excuses for the things which I have control over.

I fight different now. I fight with 1 Corinthians 9:26-30 (The Message) in mind,

26-27″”I don’t know about you, but I’m running hard for the finish line. I’m giving it everything I’ve got. No sloppy living for me! I’m staying alert and in top condition. I’m not going to get caught napping, telling everyone else all about it and then missing out myself.”

It’s that whole sloppy living idea that keeps running through my mind. I’m not like everyone else. I can’t live my life like everyone else either.

I cannot live out of my reserves. I must live out of the overflow.

Usually, I wake up ready to go. Today, however, it’s much different. Today, I feel God calling me to stop, to pause, to reassess the journey ahead of me. To take out my pen and write down the vision. I feel God calling me to align myself, yet again, every day- every moment if I have to.

Because He’s given me much, much is required of me. But what does that mean anyway? What does much mean? I’m not sure what it means in your life. I suppose you and God would have to hash that one out… but for me, in my life, it has meant: surrender, trust, obedience, submission, discipline, humility, and faith. It has meant painful situations, brokenness, deep and difficult struggles. It’s meant fighting against my flesh, staging war against the enemy, and choosing to live outside of my comfort zone.

There’s so much I could share about the sacrifices I’ve been called to make, but what’s the point? My sacrifices may not equal your sacrifices. My story may not be exactly yours. But one thing is true. We are all called to sacrifice. And for those of us who believe that we have been called and set apart for greatness, it goes beyond the spotlight, beyond the ‘hey-look-at-me-at –how- amazing-and-great-and-holy’ I am. Because at the end of the day, our life is but a vapor, “a mist that appears today and is gone tomorrow,” (James 4:14). At the end of the day, although God loves and cares for you, and although you have utmost value in His eyes, it’s not about YOU… it’s not about Me.

It’s about Him, about His name being gloried. About souls coming to know Him because of the testimony of your life… of my life.

“To whom much is given, much is required”….

And you know, God amazes me. Why? Because at the end of the day, He still blesses us in our blessing Him.

Luke 12:32 says, “Do not be afraid, little flock, for your Father is well pleasedto give you the kingdom.

That word kingdom, in the Greek is {βασιλεια}, pronounced bas-il-i’-ah, and it means:

1) royal power, kingship, dominion, rule 1a) not to be confused with an actual kingdom but rather the right or authority to rule over a kingdom 1b) of the royal power of Jesus as the triumphant Messiah 1c) of the royal power and dignity conferred on Christians in the Messiah’s kingdom 2) a kingdom, the territory subject to the rule of a king 3) used in the N.T. to refer to the reign of the Messiah.

Today, I remind myself that much is required of me because much has been given to me. I remind myself that what I put out will never compare to all that God wants to bless me with. I am reminded that it is God’s good pleasure to give me the kingdom. That power, dominion, kingship, and rule are mine. I am reminded that my trade off for a life of surrender and sacrifice goes a lot further than what I see here on earth. While I do believe that God’s favor and blessings will be poured out over my life here on earth, I understand that I fight this good fight (1 Timothy 6:12) in order that I may one day attain my crown.

Today, I align myself-again…. over and over if I have to… I put the words from 2 Timothy 4:7-8 in front of me:

“I have fought a good fight, I have finished my course, I have kept the faith:

8Henceforth there is laid up for me a crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, shall give me at that day: and not to me only, but unto all them also that love his appearing.”

“To whom much is given, much is required”…. I have a goal. I will not relent in my fight. I will walk {In Pursuit} of God’s abundance for my life!

So how about you? What is God asking of you?

Posted on February 27, 2012, in DAILY LIFE, DEVOTIONALS, LIFE, LIFE LESSONS, SPIRITUAL GROWTH and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

