{My Pursuit Requires Surrender}


imageI’m {In Pursuit} of God’s best for my life. Don’t be deceived though, my pursuit does not always entail: action, action, action. Many times, more often than not, my pursuit requires surrender. It requires stillness. It requires for me to put to the side all my ‘fabulous and amazing ideas’ because maybe, just maybe, God’s way is better.

I don’t know about you, but I love to be in the driver’s seat. I love to have my checklist in hand, my calendar before me, and I love to plan, plan, plan. There’s something about knowing what’s next which helps me to breathe easy.

But let’s be real. We can plan. We can prepare. However we do not ever know 100% what’s coming next. For all I know, I won’t make it past tonight to cook the Meal Plan I prepared for the week. Life is not guaranteed. Tomorrow may never arrive.

And with the knowledge of my mortality here on earth, I continuously surrender to God, the One who holds my eternity. Sometimes daily. Sometimes moment by moment.

My pursuit has taught me that yes, I can make goals, I can prepare for setbacks, and I can plan. But those goals, those preparations, and those plans will amount to nothing if they do not begin with total surrender to God’s will for my life.

We sometimes get it backwards. We dream up things for our lives and then we go to God with our agenda and our plans and we say, “Hey Lord, look at the amazing things I’ve planned out for my life. Allow me to share my forecast for the next decade of my life. Oh yeah, and by the way, I need you to make this happen and finance it for me. Yes, because you are God! I praise you….”

My friend, it’s a waste of time. Think about where you want to be, YES! Come to God with your desires, YES! But be willing to surrender those desires and dreams for God’s dreams. Allow God to form and mold your life into the masterpiece He so desires. Surrender is required…

Isaiah 29:16,

You turn things upside down,
   as if the potter were thought to be like the clay!
Shall what is formed say to the one who formed it,
   “You did not make me”?
Can the pot say to the potter,
   “You know nothing”?
 

Jeremiah 18:1-6,

This is the word that came to Jeremiah from the LORD: 2 “Go down to the potter’s house, and there I will give you my message.” 3 So I went down to the potter’s house, and I saw him working at the wheel. 4 But the pot he was shaping from the clay was marred in his hands; so the potter formed it into another pot, shaping it as seemed best to him.

5 Then the word of the LORD came to me. 6 He said, “Can I not do with you, Israel, as this potter does?” declares the LORD. “Like clay in the hand of the potter, so are you in my hand, Israel.

Posted on February 21, 2012, in DEVOTIONALS, LIFE, LIFE LESSONS, SPIRITUAL GROWTH and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

